1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Q9450, 9800GX2, 8GB DDR2 MOBO PLEASE?

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by FSX, May 31, 2008.

  1. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
  2. FSX

    FSX Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Sam

    From the Rampage manual I have copied this:

    System Bus: 1600/1333/1066/800 MHz
    Memory: Dual-Channel memory architecture
    - 4 x 240-pin DIMM support unbuffered ECC/ non-ECC DDR2 1200*/1066/800/667Mhz memory modules
    -Supprts up to 8GB system memory

    *The DDR2 frequency reaches 1200MHz after overclocking

    Would 1200Mhz not be more powerfull than 1066Mhz, sorry if this is a stupid question, trying to figure out how to identify how Ram is rated in speed.

    Thank you again.



     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It might, but all memory modules above 800mhz are, are just overclocked versions of this speed - you could probably overclock the PC8500 stuff to reach that speed, and it would be no less reliable I can assure you. Corsair's about the only brand that seems to be able to produce reliable 8500 speed memory, let alone higher.
     
  4. FSX

    FSX Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. FSX

    FSX Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You can almost certainly overclock the other RAM to that speed - using memory at such a high speed would be unnecessary unless you were overclocking your CPU a huge amount - and in order to have 4GB of RAM you would need four sticks of the other stuff - this would make overclocking to extreme levels more difficult - additionally it's out of stock. You'd be much better off with the 2x2GB of PC8500.
     
  7. FSX

    FSX Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks again, the Ram you suggested says I need airflow fans to go with each one? Would they fit on my mobo do you know? Also can you give me your opinion on the following: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-023-GS I was speaking to my friend and he thinks its a good one and wont be dissapointed. He said he had a Corsair Dominator - and he would avoid, there are plenty of reports flying around at the moment about these failing - he said he had 2 himself and they failed

    Also finally
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-110-OC&utm_source=froogle
    http://computers.pricegrabber.co.uk...skd=1/search=ddr2%209600/st=product/sv=title/
    http://www.offtek.co.uk/ddr2.php?subcat=70&subgroup=1&memtype=DDR2-PC8500#nav
    Thanks
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    To my knowledge they're about the most reliable memory around. Certainly better than Crucial, and more compatible than OCZ or Mushkin. The fan is also optional.
     
  9. FSX

    FSX Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If I was to purchase it would you recommend the fan and do you think it would fit ok in the Rampage?

    Thanks again.
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I don't know, my RAM gets quite hot, but I use low speed case fans - you should be ok without the fan unless you overclock the memory beyond its 1066mhz speed, in which case you'll want it.
     
  11. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
  12. FSX

    FSX Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I'm not sure how good G-Skill's PC8500 memory is, I know their 6400 stuff is good...
     
  14. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    no way u need to get the FBS to 533. it wont happen under aircooling with a Quad.

    you'll top around 450-485, and with your chip Q9450, 4GHz is 500x8, but no way youll hit 4GHx with the chip under air.

    youll max at about 3.6GHz, which is nearly 1 GHz over stock, and with 450MHz on the RAM. therefore, you can either push the pc6400 to go higher than its rated speed (400mhz) or get


    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...GB) CAS5 Dual Channel Kit (F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ)
     
  15. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The 2.0x multiplier is certainly the lower limit for Gigabyte boards. It's true for other manufacturers as well is it?
     
  16. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    nost boards should do 1:1 so for 400FBS you should get 400MHz on the RAM (with it being double data rate (data flowing on the falling an rising side) its effective at 800MHz.

    so techincally 400FBS with 1:1 is effectively 800MHz on the RAM.

    wehre as DDR3 is Quad pumped (like FBS of the CPU (where 400FBS = 1600mhz) so 400MHz doesnt = 800MHz it equals 1600MHz


     
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    right, so as far as overclocking goes, having 1600mhz DDR3 is like having 800mhz DDR2? (As far as your FSB limit goes, obviously it'll be faster memory)
     
  18. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    exactly :D

     
  19. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Wow, learn something new every day... :p or two things in this case, both provided by you!
    Another reason not to go for DDR3 then perhaps? Finding 1800mhz+ stuff can't be easy for reasonable cost.
     
  20. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    prices to high at the moment. and the NBs are nt making use of the bandwidth. youll see when nehlam comes, the integrated memory controller works at amazing speeds, so the DDR3 bandwidth can easily be utilised.

    until then, DDR2 FTW :p

     

Share This Page