1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Q9550 Overclock Problem

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Knuck1ez, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. Knuck1ez

    Knuck1ez Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks.. that loks very similar to my 3.825Ghz but I have a 1.3vcore and my RAM is at 2.00D instead of B. Does it really make a big difference
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    2.00D is what you should be using, not 2.00B.
     
  3. cincyrob

    cincyrob Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    why is it what you should be useing? it wont be stable when i use the 2.00D
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It should be, 2.00D is the proper FSB strap for the overclock, 2.00B is the lower strap.
     
  5. cincyrob

    cincyrob Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    well yes thats what yo do to get it stable. i seriously doubt there is a proper strap to use. you use what your comfortable with and what works and what your needs are. just because its the max setting doesnt mean its the correct setting.
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    well, as far as I knew, 2.00D was for use FSBs of 1600 and over, 2.00B was for use with a 1066 FSB. I will have to try 2.00B then as I never considered it before.
     
  7. Knuck1ez

    Knuck1ez Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    3.825Ghz has a FSB of 1800, which isnt listed so how do you chose the multiplier letter?
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I use D as that's the closest approximation.
     
  9. Knuck1ez

    Knuck1ez Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey cincyrob, are those settings prime95 stable? I just tried those but at 2.1v for the RAM and MCH core at 1.34. Im currently trying with 1.335 vcore or something around 1.33, cant remember. whats a good 4ghz vcore? 3.5v?
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    1.35-1.40.
     
  11. Knuck1ez

    Knuck1ez Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah I was thinking that because 1.325 seems alittle low...
    thanks
     
  12. Knuck1ez

    Knuck1ez Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok 4Ghz is IBT and Prime stable at 1.33125v but Im getting some mouse lag once every 2-3 minutes. Is this due to the OC or should i just bump the Vcore to be safe?
     
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    A truly stable overclock should have no negative impacts on using your PC. You should try raising the voltage to the chipset.
     

Share This Page