1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

quality on uncompressed rips

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by sebmel, Feb 8, 2007.

1. sebmel

sebmel Member

Hi,

I'm new to this whole dvd ripping thing, so please excuse me if my question sounds stupid or obvious. Basically my aim is to backup whole DVDs to my HD, in ISO format, so that I can play them back on my PC without needing to insert the disc. HD capacity is not an issue, so I won't be compressing them in any way. My question is, will the quality of the rip be identical to the original disc?

I've gathered that there are a few alternatives for getting the rips:

DVD decrypter
    RipIt4Me
    AnyDVD
    DVDFabDecrypter

From what I can tell the first one is very good but will have problems with newer encryption methods, for which the second and third are helpful. The fourth doesn't record ISO files from what I can tell.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Also, once I have recorded the ISO files, I would like if possible to remove unwanted things such as foreign subtitles, FBI warnings etc. Is this possible without affecting the quality of the film?

2. david66

david66 Regular member

in order to do what you stated you need to use dvd shrink with it you can remove unwanted things and shrink will create an iso image

3. IHoe

IHoe Senior member

ok..... you want the best quality without compression...... all you need is RipIt4Me and don't use Shrink! Just rip using DVDDEcrypter in RipIt4Me...... it will create a PLS file that will rip even the newer movies and encryptions to the hard drive..... then it will use FixVTS and take out the encryptions totally so you'll have a clean DVD rip!!!! Then use a great free program call ImgBurn (created by the same person who did DVDDecrypter):
    [​IMG]
    and ripping with DVDDecrypter will keep the original quality of the DVD! It doesn't change files ripped from the DVD so the quality is the same!