1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question on Plextor ConvertX PXM402U

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by alcoa, Mar 31, 2005.

1. alcoa

alcoa Member

Hi, I am new to the forums here although I have been a long time "lurker", there is some really excellent info here!!

I have decided to purchase the Plextor ConvertX to transfer some of my old VHS tapes to DVD. These are store bought movies not home made and my question is will I need to purchase a stabilizer along with this unit or will it defeat macrovision without any extra parts? If anyone with this unit has done these kind of transfers and would let me know if I need anything additional it would be most helpful.

Thanks!!

2. pfh

pfh Guest

On most tapes no, but there will be exceptions.
    I would suggest a good vcr though. And if it has some tbc function then all the better.
    I've been using the PX-M402U for 7 months and have only actually seen evidence of MV on one tape. It was a 2000 release. Most of my others have been circa 1980's and early '90's.
    It's a good little unit provided your comp. is up to it.
    BTW- Vdub latest eperimental release will work with it.

3. alcoa

alcoa Member

Thanks PFH!

4. pfh

pfh Guest

You'er welcome. Download software updates is reccommended of course plus, go ahead and download the GoCap utility from Plextor too. You might find this tool to your liking. It's great for setting up test caps, caps only, experimental caps, or use it to capture all the time. It has less cpu overhead.

5. alcoa

alcoa Member