1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questions on Flash Card and MAME

Discussion in 'Nintendo DS' started by Tiger-Heli, May 31, 2012.

1. Tiger-Heli

Tiger-Heli Member

Hi,

I'm pretty new to the world of Nintendo DS Flashcards, so forgive some of the ignorant questions below …

I would mainly like to be able to add MAME and view movies on a Nintendo DS.

I know I can do that with a SuperCard DSTwo and iPlayer and DSTwo-MAME: http://eng.supercard.sc/manual/dstwo/plugin.htm

Questions:

Is it possible to do this with other cards like the Acekard 2i or iSmartDS or R4i?

If so, would I just load the DSTwo plugin's on the other flashcard, or would I need card-specific versions of the plug-ins?

Would they run about as well on the other cards as the DSTwo? (I know the DSTwo has a separate CPU, but I don't know if the others do or not).

Please advise performance and battery life on the DSTwo? i.e. I tried MAME4Droid on a Samsung SGP, and it was fine, but the DS is slower I think (even with the CPU on the DSTwo) (I'm looking at older games like PacMan, Galaga, etc - not things like Cruisin' USA). Battery life for the regular DS is supposed to be something like 8 hours plus. What could I expect using the DS Two?

Minor question, but I know the DSTwo iPlayer supports DIVx, AVI, and FLV files (among others). I have some files that are MP4 or MPv. Do you know if the iPlayer supports these? (I can convert them if needed, but if it works as-is, so much the better.

What are the pros and cons of the various brands/types of DS Flashcards?

How do the cards install? i.e. I thought Supercard and the DSTwo used the GBA port on the DS and DS Lite, but it is supposed to work with DS, DS Lite, DSi, and DSiXL, and I didn't think the latter 2 had GBA ports.