1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quick Tip - **Cleaning Pagefile**

Discussion in 'User submitted guides' started by rav009, Dec 28, 2006.

  1. rav009

    rav009 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi,

    Here's a quick tip that'll help secure your privacy in windows.

    If your using windows, you may or may not be familiar with pagefile.sys, basically it is virtual memory which gets writen onto when windows has used all your availible RAM. The problem with this is potentially private info could be stored there.

    But there's a way around this, do the following:

    Click start --> type regedit --> hit ok.

    Navigate to the Memory Management key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management

    Change the value of ClearPageFileAtShutdown to 1, then close regedit. (If the value ClearPageFileAtShutdown is blank or does not exist, create it and add a DWORD value of 1).

    Done :)
     
  2. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Thanks for the tip :)
     
  3. rav009

    rav009 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Your welcome :)

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. Quintis

    Quintis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
  5. Quintis

    Quintis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello, I did the regedit thing and when I arrived at " ClearPageFileValueAtShutdown to 1." my setting was already set at 1.
    Is this normal for me to have this setting without doing it manually?
    I'm very intersted. Please email me with your opinion to [removed]

    Thanks in advance
    Kevin
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2006
  6. rav009

    rav009 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It seems yours is already pre-tweaked,Kevin. This isn't a worry, sometimes it can be like that :)
     
  7. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    @Quintis

    I would remove your email address, because a spam bot could get a hold of it and then you could start getting loads of spam. better to just pm rav009 the address.
     
  8. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    'tis removed
     
  9. odavid

    odavid Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried doing this howeverI was unable to change the setting from 0 to 1 infact I could not change it at all.I tried the add a word DWORD AND SETTING A VALUE OF 1 BUT IT ALSO WOULD NOT ALLOW A SETTING OF 1. HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

    THANK YOU FOR THE TIP
    odavid
     

Share This Page