1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ram

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by gera229, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I hate that is sais it only has 1 pci x 16 slot.. is that all i need i thought i need 2.
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No, you need a PCIe 2.0 slot, not two actual slots, it's a version number.
     
  3. boien

    boien Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so when motherboards show speeds of 1200,1600 and so on then those are overclocked versions of 800 & 1066. Interesting I never knew that.

     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes, but with 1600 it's different, as that's only on DDR3, whereas 1200 is a DDR2 speed.
     
  5. boien

    boien Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so now that brings me to another question.
    does that mean the same principles go for CPU's as well ? are there standards and overclocked already cpus as well ? im guessing that as soon as it hits 3.0ghz then anythin gover that is factory OC'd ?
     
  6. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well for cpu's i think it's different. For cpu's they have difference connectors ram doesn't i guess. So liek the duo and quad and some qx they have lg775 socket and the qx 9770 o rqx 9775 tey have lga socket 771 and might not fit the motherboard.
     
  7. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    In another forum a guy told me that if i have the q9550 my ram won't run over 667mhz no matter what kind i get since or of the q9550 fsb being that way is that true? Yea also is pci x 16 2.0 slot enough for what im getting? So if i was getting daul graphics cards would i need 2 pci x 16 2.0 slots? I'm just asking to learn but im not planning to get daul though.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2008
  8. boien

    boien Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thats kind of hard to believe i beleive that is the FSB speeds arent the same or if the cpu fsb speed is -lower- than that of the memory, THEN i can see it having problems. but as far as NOT being able to go faster than 667 with a quad core i dont beleive that. i havent checked out any forums but thats just an educated guess on it
     
  9. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well if u overclock ur cpu than it can go higher. cuz ull have higher fsb.
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If I were you, you guys should stop giving each other advice, and wait for people with more experience to come back and post - myself, spamual and the likes.

    In summary, each TYPE of CPU (for instance, the Q6000 series, the Q9000 series, E8000 series) has the same front side bus speed set as its normal, what they change is the multiplier - this means that, for instance, the Q6600 is 266x9 = 2.4Ghz, the Q6700 = 266x10 = 2.66Ghz.

    Again, the Q9450 is 333x8 = 2.66Ghz, the Q9550 is 333x8.5 = 2.83Ghz, and the Q9650 is 333x9 = 3Ghz.

    When you overclock, you can't change the multiplier UP to change the speed (you can with extreme edition processors, but they cost $1000+), so you have to change the front side bus speed instead, so for instance, to overclock a Q9450 to 3Ghz, you won't end up with 333x9 like the Q9650, you'll have to use 375x8. The consequence of this is that lots of components are now running at a higher speed, not just the main processor, and consequently that's why things start to get unstable. This is why you need a good (usually expensive) motherboard to overclock, as EVERY part of the board needs to be able to run at a higher speed without causing crashes.

    Currently all the processors in this list use Socket LGA775.
    E6300,6320,6400,6420,6550,6600,6700,6750,6800,6850
    E4300,4400,4500,4600
    E2140,2160,2180,2200,2220
    E5200...
    E7200...
    Q6600,6700,6850
    Q9300,9400,9450,9550,9650
    QX9770

    The QX9775 is LGA771, which means it is designed for the twin-processor board, Skulltrail.


    Gera, the guy on that forum is wrong. let me explain


    In the same way that the CPU speed was a multiplier of the front side bus speed (Normally 333 for a Q9550) , Memory works in exactly the same way. A lot of boards only let you set certain values for the multiplier of memory. The first of those is 2.0 - and clearly, 2.0x333 = 666mhz, so if you used that particular multiplier, you'd have 666mhz memory. BUT, there are others, 2.5, 3.2 and 4.0x are usually what you have - consequently, you could limit yourself to 666mhz memory, OR you could have 800, 1066 or 1333.
    Do any of these numbers seem familiar? :)

    If this confuses you (it probably will) don't worry, as this process is done AUTOMATICALLY by the motherboard unless you tell it otherwise, so your memory will run at the most appropriate speed without you needing to do anything.
    You are right in guessing that the memory speed will go up when you overclock, as the multipliers you can set remain the same - say for instance you overclock your Front Side Bus to 450mhz (which is what I'm using right now) - that leaves you with 2.0x450 = 900mhz, 2.5x450 = 1125mhz, 3.2x450 = 1440mhz and 4.0x450 = 1800mhz. Clearly, since I'm using 1066mhz memory, my only option here is to use the 2.0x, as 1125mhz is a bit too fast for my memory.
    More confusing still, you can actually get away with overclocking your memory, as long as you raise the voltage to it - a principle that runs for overclocking all components, CPU, chipset, Memory, the lot. The Balance is finding the fastest speed you can get, without using too high a voltage that fries everything.
     
  11. spamual

    spamual Guest

    im guessing what the guy meant on your forum is that, the minimum needed for the Q9550 will be 667MHz RAM. if you get slower than this, your system may not work.

    Some mobos (motherboards) have memory multipliers, called straps, within these straps they will show the rated value of the speed of the ram, which you can choose to run at.

    If you lot really do not want to OC (overclock) then, IMO if the 667 ram is the cheapest then get that, that is if you are on a lowe budget. if not, and getting higher rated RAM wont compromise the rest of your core components then go for it.

    The thing is, please do not try to overclock yourselves. get a mate who can do it, or really read up on it for months on end. if you are too rash (which i have been many a time) you will end up killing your hardware (which i have done a bit aswell) so please think long and hard.

    now as for getting a build next month, do not spec now, trust me. last month for £120 i could have gotten a Q6600, now i need £150. ALOT can change, the prices may even increace (though it seems to be hittin us over the pond more :( )

     
  12. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That guy is correct, he's said 'all you would need is 667mhz memory' - meaning you can buy that and it will work, not that that's what you HAVE to buy. He was right, you just misinterpreted his post.
     
  14. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    And spamual that's called sales, male in rebates, and shipping prices. I guess.
     
  15. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sam well if i get higher mhz I think gaming would perform better. sam also u know the mobo for 104$ u showd me can u overclock with it well? And what' it's multiplier?
     
  16. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Nope, gaming performance won't be affected by what memory speed you choose. Keep telling yourself if you like, but trust me, it makes no difference.

    You seem to have misunderstood how to overclock. Motherboards don't have multipliers. Motherboards are what CHOOSE the multipliers.
     
  18. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh so another simmilar questions. What would the mother board chose the one u showed me fore 104? And is it good for overclocking? And what does memory speed matter on? I know that cas latency matters the most for gaming though.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  19. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    CAS Latency makes a minor difference, but still very little for gaming, it's mainly for things like video encoding. The motherboard I chose is good for overclocking.
     
  20. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

Share This Page