1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ram

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by gera229, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Nothing. Only things like video encoding and graphics design. For gamers, almost anything do with memory is irrelevant unless used for overclocking purposes. (for instance, to overclock a Q9550 you do need at least 800mhz RAM)
     
  2. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok what if everything was stock what mhz would the motherboard pick for the ram if i got 1066 or something?.
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Mine chose 1066, and I use a similar motherboard, so that one should too.
     
  4. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Dual LAN speed will only work if you actually connect using two cables to a Gigabit network. I highly doubt you have the means to do this with your PC, so that doesn't really matter. The P5Q boards are nice, but I generally trust Gigabyte more as a company than Asus.
     
  6. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No, they're fine. I don't know how good that particular card is though.
     
  8. spamual

    spamual Guest

    exactly same as palit/galaxy/sparkle.
     
  9. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what's palit/galaxy/ and sparkle? Are they good? U think gigabyte will be better than vision tech. btw sam u didn't answer if ur card didn't go over 90 degrees. And how long were u gaming for it to get th 90? Does heat slow them down while their hot? Is that vision tech i showed u does it run hot or cool? spamuel what brand graphics card on ati sam said gigabyte what about u? well for me i know sapphire and gigabyte but i feel like getting gigabyte though sins sam said his opinion. im into nvidia but since these cards are cheap I'de go for them. thanks. peace.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  10. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    does daul lan required to plugs on the wall too? or is it one wire that connects 2 cards? Is lan only to transfer data from pc to pc? Is it faster? What is it used for? sam look at power supply thread ive left u some there.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  11. spamual

    spamual Guest

    get the cheapest one

    i played my 2900GT over 30 hours, it got to 95C never had a problem :)

    the second LAN can be used to share the internet, or you can use it so one PC gets net and you can transfer files at the same time, OR, you could hook up a console to it, so the console can get net.
     
  12. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh so it's useless? Wait but can u buy a sepparate chip and just connect it to the motherboard and also have dual lan speeds?
     
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It gets to 90C in about 20 minutes, but then STAYS there. This is the point I'm making, unless there's something wrong with the cooler on a card, it stays at a specific temperature, no matter how long you game for.

    edit: Yes, useless for most people. It does the same as having another network card plugged into the motherboard.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  14. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh I get it ok so answer the question about the lan. nvm u already did.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  15. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Just have.
     
  16. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well, we've already told you several times what to do. It's your decision now.
     
  18. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  19. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I can give you a simple answer to this one:
    No.
     
  20. gera229

    gera229 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No that their not better? or no to not get theM? which was the answer for or is it for both?
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008

Share This Page