1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Re-Installing XP

Discussion in 'Windows - Software discussion' started by theillusi, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. theillusi

    theillusi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey
    I've done it before and i cant really figure out why this is happening, but when i try to reinstall xp to give my laptop a complete do over, it gets to the point where its intalling and when it gets to some (32?) stuff and explorer related things it pops up saying it can install them (once comes up with around 30 similar messages with differnt files straight after that)

    any ideas?




    cheers
     
  2. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Just exactly what error messages are you getting, did you completely reformat your hard drive and start from scratch? Is this the laptop maker's reinstall disk or a Microsoft XP install disk? Any additional info will help.
     
  3. theillusi

    theillusi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    just the typical "cannot install file (name of file) ok, retry, cancel" type thing
    and its the disk that came with the laptop
    the weird thing is, after this all happens, when its done the laptop acts as though i never did anything and all my orginal files and everything are as they were before I tried re-installing XP
     
  4. theillusi

    theillusi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry, this forum seems to lack a post editing option, further info is it is a Dell inspiron 1501 laptop, currently on SP3 but the disk is SP2
     
  5. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Since you have SP3 installed, your Windows SP2 disk will not overwrite any newer version files, hence your error. Back up all of your data, music pictures documents etc, then format your hard drive and resinstall windows on a clean hard drive. This will work wonders for you.

    http://lifehacker.com/software/wind...nd-install-windows-xp-from-scratch-157578.php
    When done reformatting, copy all of the drivers and other goodies that you downloaded and reinstalled onto a CD or DVD disk and label it "Doomsday Disk - February 2009" and store it in a safe place so that the next time you reinstall windows all of your programs and drivers are in one place. If you upgrade or change a ton of stuff, make yourself another disk and replace the older one with a newer version, hope this helps.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  6. FredBun

    FredBun Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Oh man good thread, I have been looking for a thread like this.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,129
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    128
    theillusi, do as blivetNC suggests.
     
  8. theillusi

    theillusi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    awesome, its basically telling me what i've always been scared of trying out XD
    (I never had clear instructions)

    well if i somehow screw it up you'll know
    so its definately because its upgraded? not because there could be sothething up with the CD, i mean i dont wanna format this and then realise I cant actually do it

    also this will get rid of any virus's right? (I have a zafi.b worm whih is proving harder to get rid of than i can explain, I have sought advice for it but nothing has been helpful)

    lastly, the COPY ERRORS as i now know they were now were mostly in the start (bar? i know what the start bar is, I cant remeber if it had its own intalling section thats all, it was something to do with start) section with about 19 mins left on "installation" and thanks, you obviously guessed it was just repairing (its all i knew how to do)

    Thanks so much!
     
  9. theillusi

    theillusi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ^in above post i put "trying out XD" because of the link that came with it for some reason it makes it look like i was scared of trying out the related definition, in fact it was just a simple emoticon thing^

    also how come I cant find an edit post thing here? is there actually none or am i blinder than i thought? lol

    *Edit* noticed it ater double posting, sorry
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  10. varnull

    varnull Guest

    you found it
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2009
  11. theillusi

    theillusi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    now talking to you from my freshly reinstalled computer ^^

    one issue tho, before hand it was a bit sluggish and is still even though it wasnt before a few months ago, i mean seriously like, i type and i finish typing before the computer does

    whats going on there

    its xp SP2 now with practiaclly no programs on it with a gig of ram and an AMP semphon processer Dell inspiron 1501
    to get rid of the sluggishness was the main reason i wanted to do this, slightly disappointing ya know?
     
  12. silk42

    silk42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  13. theillusi

    theillusi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    just system and task manger are using any CPU other than the idle thing

    basically nothing seem out of the ordinary

    And yer, AVG the free one
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  14. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Avast is less of a resource hog than AVG
    www.avast.com
     
  15. theillusi

    theillusi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i dont get that though because it was never like that with avg before, just after a system restore kinda buggered up a few months back:S
     

Share This Page