1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reading UK recorded DVDs - unusual problem

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Loydlas, Apr 19, 2005.

1. Loydlas

Loydlas Member

I'm not a complete newbie, and have some knowledge of region encoding and PAL vs NTSC.

I wish to record a program played on the BBC using a stand-alone DVD recorder, and then to watch this on a stand-alone USA DVD player.

I have a sample disk with a program recorded from the TV, and neither my stand alone USA DVD player or my PC DVD RW drive recognises the data on the disk. In fact both players respond as if there is no disk in the drive.

I would have thought that a UK based stand alone DVD recorder would have used a format that is readable in the US, at least using a PC? Am I wrong in this assumption?

I'm thinking that there is a problem with the disk itself. Is it damaged (possibly in my trip from the UK to US), or should I have used a specific type of media? The disk is a panasonic DVD-RAM (120min/4.7GB rewritable 2-3x speed)

Thanks for any advice

2. sunyam0

sunyam0 Guest

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 21, 2005
  3. sunyam0

sunyam0 Guest

I'm pretty confident the stand alone recorders provide region-free recordings. If your computer doesn't recognize the disks, the fault is probably with the stand-alone unit.

4. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

what is the file format? is it something like dvd-VR the vr being the main bit?

i think that recording useing a standalone uses a slighly different version of format than the norm for pc!

i think this has been asked about before and you may need nero visionexpress to handle the file to be converted to dvd format of vob/ifo/bup to burn with the same app...

edit...

found this! may come in useful with what you know so far?

Introduction to DVD Video Recording Formats
    Info provided by CyberLink!