1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recorder Buffer underrun

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Just, Aug 9, 2003.

1. Just

Just Member

Hi,
    I use Nero, and a week ago I started having problems with burning CDs. The Recorder Buffer empties all the time. The CDs still come out ok, but they take much longer and the recorder buffer empties and refills throughout the burning procress.
    The burning also effects the OS by creating pauses, everything responds a little slower.
    I've tried killing all the background programs: eMule, KaZaA, ICQ, Firewall, Antivirus, etc... I also disconnected from the internet - Nothing helps.
    I tried burning at lower speeds - That didn't help as well.
    Notice that I've been burning heavy for 6 months without any problem, and that it suddenly appeared (no, I didn't change the Nero version or install new drivers \ firmware for the cdr drive).
    I also checked the Task Manager to see if there's any process that consumes resources, but found nothing.
    What could be the problem?
    How can I diagnose it?

2. Praetor

Praetor Moderator Staff Member

1. Harddrive fragmentation
    2. Check that both your HDD and CDR have DMA enabled
    3. There are also memory and buffer settings within Nero too!

3. Just

Just Member

1) did that, didn't help
    2) Where do I check that?
    3) I didn't change anything, yet the problem suddenly appeared. What settings should I play with?

Thanks!

4. Praetor

1. Control Panel
    2. System Settings
    3. Hardware Tab
    4. Device Manager
    5. IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
    6. Primary IDE Channel --> Properties --> Advanced, make sure everything syas DMA If Available
    7. Secondary IDE Channel --> Properties --> Advanced, make sure everything syas DMA If Available
    8. Reboot if need be

5. Just

Just Member