1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RECORDING VCD TO VHS

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by kingsize, Nov 2, 2001.

1. kingsize

kingsize Guest

Ok Guys, I am fairly new to all this. I have a Pioneer DV-636D and although I might rip DVDs in the future, My main aim is Being able to Make MPEG-1's(VCD) from my stack of 50 avi films/friends episodes and then play them on my DVD player and then RECORD them to VHS for my cheap mates that dont have DVD.
    Anyway I can just about Convert avi to mpeg using TMPGE no probs there and if i catch easy cd creator 5 on a good day, I can even Burn to VCD which is all good. The main problem starts when I try and record VCD to VHS thru my dvd player-WHEN YOU PLAY THE VIDEO BACK YOU GET LINES RUNNING DOWN THE SCREEN WHICH LOOKS LIKE IT HAS BEEN PUT THERE ON PURPOSE.(DVD's RECORD TO VHS FINE)But these bloddy VCD's are killing me here.
    I have tried everything I can think of, converting to avi and back to mpeg and then doing the whole game again but it aint working, pls help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    andy

2. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member

Your DVD player is the problem, not the VCD. For some weird reason it adds something to the signal that's not supposed to be there. Maybe your VCDs are in different video format and your VCR can't handle that one (PAL/NTSC)?

3. kingsize

kingsize Guest

I know about the PAL NTSC Problem i.e playing a NTSC film to PAL and visa vresa but My dvd is dual band.....(shit just thought my dvd might be dual band but my video is deffo pal), hmmm wondering if the avi's that i am converting are being converted to ntsc mpeg) hmmmmm/......

4. kingsize

kingsize Guest

sorry drd, didnt see your responce there, jeez that was quick, emm, do you think it is worth my while trying the convertion again to mpeg1 again making sure it is pal

5. dRD