1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Removing extras for better video quality HELP :(

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by AntonisCy, Jun 9, 2004.

1. AntonisCy

AntonisCy Member

yes i know im a newb :(

i would like to ask how it is possible to remove extras from a dvd so CloneDVD2 doesnt have to reduce the video quality.. i have used the sites guide on copying a DVD to a DVD-R but it doesnt say anything about how to remove extras so quality isnt reduced... could someone tell me how to do it step by step like that GREAT guide on the site?

thanks in advance

2. aldav45

aldav45 Member

Hi AntonisCy,
    welcome to AD.
    If you want to remove extras for better picture quality then I would reccomend that you ditch CloneDVD2 and download DVD Shrink (its free!!!) from here:

http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd_rippers/dvd_shrink.cfm

Then open the program, load the disc then go into re-author mode (top right hand side).
    then on the right you'll see the main movie.
    drag and drop that to the left hand side and go up to the top and click "backup".
    then make sure all the settings are correct and back the disc up.
    voila.
    no extras.
    better picture.
    and its free.
    good luck and let us know how u get on.

3. AntonisCy

AntonisCy Member

aldav45, thank you very much

4. AntonisCy

AntonisCy Member

aldav45, it it possible that while i get rid of some things like trailers and other extras, i can still keep the menu and most importantly, the subtitles? thanks

5. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

when using dvd shrink, you can keep subtitles, but not the menu when you want to cut out the extras.

6. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

In order to keep functional menus I'd suggest checking out DVD Stripper. It's a very slick little app that I use quite a bit. Here's a link to get you started and be sure to check out the FAQ thread :)