1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Screen size (resolution) for encoding to AVI

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by atomick, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. atomick

    atomick Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am ripping DVD scenes to AVI to edit a ‘showreel’ of scenes to eventually burn to DVD.
    The question is what size should I choose on the 'screen size (resolution) for encoding' option.
    [I am using AoA DVD Ripper]
     
  2. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Do you add transitions/effects and such, or just joining together the clips?
     
  3. atomick

    atomick Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just joining together the clips (a basic showreel).

    Might use some transitions/effects, why would that make a differnce to the size?
     
  4. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Because if you don't add any transitions/effects, then you can do it all with DVD Shrink, no conversion necessary, from DVD to AVI and back to DVD.
     
  5. atomick

    atomick Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You’re right you can do it that way but I also need to add some music over some of the scenes/ credits so I will need to edit them in 'Windows Movie Maker' first.
    So I still need to know what AVI size to make them so they will look clear when I put them back onto DVD.

    Thanks
     
  6. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The resolution is not as important, any default will do it, just use a hight bitrate.
     
  7. atomick

    atomick Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There is no bitrate.
    Options for AVI:

    Output frame rate: Pal or NTSC

    Resolution width/ height (there is no default, you have to type in your own size)

    AVI Video Codec: Cinepack Codec by radis, Mirosoft Video 1, DivX 6.8.5 Codec (1 logical CPU) or Xvid MPEG-4 Codec

    AVI Audio Option: Use MP3 Encoder, Use ACM, Disable Audio
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2010

Share This Page