1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

server timeouts

Discussion in 'AfterDawn feedback & suggestions' started by ddp, Jul 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I thought my ISP was down until I checked other sites and found it was just aD!
     
  2. Lethal_B

    Lethal_B Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,067
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Off topic - Like the new siggy, Scuba, gave me a laugh! :)
     
  3. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,856
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Had extremely weird bug / situation on our site. Our software guys added a new software, but while adding the software, the server that should generate the software description page, crashed. Thus, the software was in the database, but its page caused an 404.

    Now, our 404 handler has logic that checks from the software db whether the last part of the URL contains a string that matches to anything in the software db. If it founds one, it redirects user to the correct page (this was done due thousands of people copy/pasteing "cut" URIs from other discussion forums that tend to leave out the middle part of the URL, producing URIs like http://www.afterdawn.com/.../a_software.cfm and we wanted to direct those users to correct place). Now, obviously the requested file still wasn't there, causing system to throw back to 404 and looping the same thing over. This obviously caused an infinite loop, causing server load to go up and eventually crash.
     
  4. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @Lethal_B

    Thanks for the sig comment.
     
  5. andmerr

    andmerr Guest

    gee its taking forever to load...........
     
  6. arniebear

    arniebear Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I keep getting errors in my browsers, is it me or something else. If I refresh it works

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

     
  7. Ketola

    Ketola Turned ninja Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Our secondary DNS was malfunctioning which caused some of the DNS queries to return empty results. As the domain SOA has a TTL of 3600 seconds, it'll take a while before everyone can reach the site again.
     
  8. Lethal_B

    Lethal_B Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,067
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I have got a few of these over the last 10 minutes or so. Seems to have ceased fairly quickly.

    [​IMG]

    Cheers.
     
  9. Jamzbond

    Jamzbond Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Haven't gotten any errors recently but like Andy the AD pages just take longer to load.

    Hi ScubaBud,
    I saw your sig before and thought it was really cute. Now the Lethal has mentioned it I took a closer look and realized not only does the "fish" have hands for lateral fins, but also feet. Really funny sig all way round. I know,.....I'm a regular Chris Columbus :)

     
  10. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    major slowdowns 10mins or more ago. worse than usual too. damn shame as i just started ploughing thru one of the forums. or maybe it's me that's slowing the site down :O
     
  11. Lethal_B

    Lethal_B Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,067
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Nah creaky you are not alone. It's been slow for me since about Four.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2006
  12. ireland

    ireland Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,720
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    creaky
    the site has had a lot of hang nails since this morning,

    i also got this pop up with ie or firefox on one thread...

    Information you exchange with this site cannot be viewed or
    changed by others. However, there is a problem with the site’s
    security certificate.


    The security certificate was issued by a company you have
    not chosen to trust. View the certificate to determine whether
    you want to trust the certifying authority.


    O The security certificate date is valid.


    J’ The name on the security certificate it invalid or does not
    match the name of the site



    Do you want to proceed?
    Yes No View Certificate
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2006
  13. arniebear

    arniebear Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Got the same certificate error last night, and this morning on two different computers. But it seems to have disappeared tonight.
     
  14. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    blumming atrocious timeouts again!
     
  15. andmerr

    andmerr Guest

    its definitely got to be your sig slowing everything down creaky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page