1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

service pack 2 concerns

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by nigeljkuk, Aug 20, 2004.

1. nigeljkuk

nigeljkuk Guest

Ok Im a newbie as far as xp is concerned But I have thanks to this forum got my pc just how I like it! I have dvd shrink /decrypt/and clone dvd2/ roxio plat 6.0 avg 7.0 and kerio firwall all running nicely at the moment , My worry is this and can anyone please put my mind at rest, This new service pack 2 I have heard such horror stories of blue screens , conflicts with existing firewalls etc , I am concerned that this pack might cause problems with the programs ie my dvd software what precautions/solutions would the forum suggest to take to minnimize or negate any problems, I havent got a good backup program that is the first thing I intend to buy , what do you recommend to copy my programs , as is , so that I can restore my pc if need be, I have spent a lot on my pc and its my pride and joy and considering ive come from a sinclair straight to an xp and am burning dvds I think ive done well but I really hope the good guys on here can offer some advice many thanks

2. Xian

Xian Regular member

I would invest in a decent cloning program such as Norton Ghost so that you have a complete backup in case you need to restore.

I have most of the programs that you mentioned installed except I use Nero instead of Roxio, and I didn't experience any problems. I have used DVD Shrink and Decrypter since installing the upgrade. I would disable the Windows Firewall first thing since Kerio is better in my opinion and you don't want 2 firewalls running to avoid conflicts.