1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sky+box locked

Discussion in 'Digital TV - United States & Canada' started by kcc76, Aug 18, 2005.

  1. kcc76

    kcc76 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have the original sky+ box ive recently cancelled my subscription with sky but they have locked my box so i cant watch the programs i have recorded is there any way of unlocking it so i can get acsess to whats on the harddrive any help please...
     
  2. Hoggie

    Hoggie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I can't believe that they get away with that. The box does belong to you & you've payed for the subscription of the programs on it. Maybe it's just that your have an invalid card & the Sky+ box won't let you view them without it? Borrow a card from someone & burn them to DVD maybe. Sadly Sky+ has no ethernet port or any real way of accessing what's on the HD. Good luck
     
  3. ozzy214

    ozzy214 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Unless its a real hard drive and you pull it out and stick it in your puter..lol.:>
     
  4. Hoggie

    Hoggie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I believe maxtor IDE Hard Drives are used in Sky+ boxes, but as for installing the HD unformatted into your HD, don't! It'll be a completely different file allocation system & the chances are that even if you could retrieve the files, you'd be unable to play them as they'd be some obscure Sky+ format. I know Tivo has it's players & converters but I've never heard of any for Sky+
     
  5. kcc76

    kcc76 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for the help guys sorry its a late reply ive been away.
     

Share This Page