1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SLLOOOOOW burns???

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Eromezis, Nov 17, 2004.

1. Eromezis

Eromezis Member

I recently reformatted my hardrive and installed a new 160 GB seagate slave drive on my system. I also upgraded to the latest version of Nero. For some reason, burning a dvd is taking a lot longer than it used to now. I have a Pioneer DVR-108 which burns up to 16x. It will burn at 12x on the memorex 8x media. It worked fine before. Now it is taking about 30-35 minutes to burn a normal 4.5 GB dvd, when it should take 6 minutes max. Anybody have any clue as to what might be causing this? I am clueless.

2. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Hey eromezis, I am a newbie but is sounds like a media problem. Memorex are notorious about having them produced by many different manufacturers. I heard they use at least 4. There is a lot of quality issues with them and most of us in these forums don't waste our time with them. Also sounds like you are maxing them out on lower speed media. That could also cause you problems.Looks like you got a quality burner. Are you using + or - media? I have been checking out new burners and noticed some of them burn the - a lot slower. You might try new media like verbatim,riteck ridata,or maxell. Good luck

3. bigorange

bigorange Active member

saugmon is right on about your media, memorex is crap, and about burns are faster with +R over -R with a lot of burners.

Here is a good link that is probably cheaper than what you are paying for Memorex, these are + and - Riteks, always buy BRANDED media:

http://store.yahoo.com/meritline/ritek-g04-dvd-r-dvde-blank-media-disc-discs.html

One final note, The faster the burn speed, the greater the chance for errors, especially on troublesome files. You'll see most of the forum burns at 4x or less, 1x on games. I can burn up to 12x, but NEVER go over 4x on anything I plan on keeping.