1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Software and/or Hardware Advice

Discussion in 'Motorola phones' started by RadioJoe, Mar 17, 2005.

1. RadioJoe

RadioJoe Member

Hello Gang:

As you see, I'm a newbie. Before I ask my first question, I want to say thanks to all for sharing your extensive knowledge. I hope to return the favor sometime in the near future. This is a great forum!

THE BASICS: My phone is a Motorola V220. I’m on Cingular Wireless. My computer is running Windows-XP under fat32. The reason I’m not running NTFS is due to some other programs.

THE SETUP: Here’s my situation... I installed Mobile Phone Tools version 3.11h on my computer and I have successfully transferred files (image and audio) back and forth from my phone to my computer. Prior to installing mPT, I installed the P2K drivers.

I wanted to create theme files so; I installed Media Manager on my computer. Obviously, that program only creates the theme files. It doesn’t transfer them to my phone (at least that’s what I understand.)

In addition, I have installed PST 7.1.1 GENERAL.

THE PROBLEM: Now, the phone tools will not recognize my phone, and Windows sees the phone as a new device each time I plug it in. Windows also sees the phone as ‘Other Devices.’

I have read in this forum, I need to set my phone on COM port 4. It seems that my computer will only recognize COM ports 1 and 2. It does not list any others. I'm not sure what port it saw when Phone Tools was communicating with my phone.

THE QUESTION: Before I start all over and start deleting programs, do I have the necessary programs to do what I need to do? That need is... (a) access the audio and image files on my phone; (b) access my address book on my phone; and (c) transfer theme files to my phone from my computer via the USB connection. Other features like changing the phone start-up and shut-down screens would be nice, but are not critical.