1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony Bravia - Cannot connect to Network

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by zipzapzip, Dec 30, 2008.

1. zipzapzip

zipzapzip Member

Hi

I have tried everything I know, to connect a Sony KDL 52W4500 HDTV to a home network - with no joy.

I phoned Sony Helpline - bloke didn't understand what I was talking about.

This is my set up;

BT Voyager 2110 ADSL Modem/Router (wireless)
    Main desktop PC: XP Pro
    Wife's laptop: Vista Home Premium

I have enabled file sharing on both computers via:
    Windows Media Player 11

Everytime I try to set up the network settings on the TV I receive a message that the;

Network connection is not connected.

I am new to all this - am I doing something wrong or does my TV have a problem?

I was under the impression that I could send music via the VISTA laptop (DLNA) to the DLNA TV via the Voyager Wireless router.

Any help or guidance would really be appreciated as I've spent days trying to get this to work.

Thanks in advance.

Stephen

2. ovenchips

ovenchips Member

Just got my new Sony Bravia KDL40W4500U working on my network - didn't take too long. I'm presuming the TV interface is almost identical - can't comment on your router (mines a Buffalo running DD-WRT).
    Sorry if some steps seem stupidly obvious!

1. If you run Windows Media Player(WMP) on both machines, can you see the other machine(and vice versa) if you go into
    Now playing >> More Options >> Library >> Configure Sharing
    ??? If you can see one from the other, then the TV should be able to see one or the other...

2. Have you got a standard (not crossover) network cable connected from the TV to a spare LAN port on the back of your router?