1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony DRU500A, which software to use?

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by chui1675, Jan 7, 2003.

1. chui1675

chui1675 Guest

I just received this burner today and installed the PowerDVD software that it came with. It also comes with RecordNow but I've read that there are better software out there than this. Does anyone own this drive? If so, what DVD/CD burning software do you recommend? I'm a newbie to this and can use all the help I can get.

Chui

2. maldb

maldb Member

I use the ArcSoft Showbiz software which came with my DRU-500A to capture video and edit it as well - it's a pretty powerful package without having to be a rocket scientist to figure out how to use it. It lets you insert text, special effects, and transitions on the timeline. When you render your video, you can select the quality level you'd like - it produced a stunning capture of a football playoff game I taped on Hi-8. For DVD burning, I use Ulead DVD Movie Factory - very simple to use although chapter buttons on the menu are static. You can also use Sonic MyDVD which also came with the burner - it has motion menus you an use, although I'm not sure if it will let you create specific chapters from the one mpeg file you created for the DVD burn - Movie Factory does allow you to do this.

Originally used Ulead Video Studio 6, but captures came out terible looking - may have been my fault - didn't really look at the settings. Will have to try again.

I've tried using Pinnacle Studio 8, but it keeps freezing on my system and from what I've read in their forums, there seems to be an awful lot of problems with it. Can't recommend it.

Hope this helps!

Last edited: Jan 9, 2003
  3. risky4me

risky4me Guest