1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SONY LCD VS. SONT WEGA SXRD

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by mikej3131, Feb 7, 2006.

  1. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Does this sxrd have the "burn in" effect. Some guy told me at best buy that the reason why most plasma tv's dont have pc inputs is because something about a "burn in effect" i think he said. he said after using your pc to tv and you have a still image, you will have to keep the tv on about 30 minutes to get rid of that stil image. And he said lcd's do not have this problem.

    Is this sxrd going to have this problem?
     
  2. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    No, the only technologies that are subject to burn-in are Plasma and CRT., the SXRD is LCoS based. Your Best Buy customer specialist seems to be pedeling mis-information. 2005 and 2006 Plasmas have a very low risk of burn-in. Also most Plasmas have computer inputs! It takes several hours of a static image (still image) on screen to put a plasma panel at risk for burn-in. What most people experience is "Image Retention" which is totally reversable and non damaging to the tv set.

    All of the newer sets have technology built-in that counteract abuse which helps to lower the risk of burn-in. Plus computer's use screen savers which "Save" the screen buy running a looping video so that burn-in doesn't occure. Don't be afraid of the Plasma technology. It is perfect for any home application especially when space is a commodity and a large screen is preferable.

    As far as LCD, it sometimes has a problem with image retention. Image retention is when an image is show when the screen is turned off. The remedy is simple, turn the set back on and let it shut down properly.

    Buy the SXRD!
    Ced
     
  3. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks again diabolos
     
  4. BigMike2

    BigMike2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Daibolos, you Sir are a true credit to your profession. You have the patience of Job and the knowledge of Einstein. Thank you for the knowledge sharing.

    Do you happen to work in the greater Wash. D.C. area?

    Mike
     
  5. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    Wow, Thankz a mill BigMike2, you made my day!

    Sadly I don't. I'm a Bengals Boy ;)!

    Thankz again,
    Ced
     
  6. Hawk_Eye

    Hawk_Eye Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This thread has been very informative as I am looking to buy SXRD and A/V receiver for it. I do have some questions.

    1. Does SXRD up-scale all incoming video signals (s-video, HDMI, etc..)?

    2. I heard that SXRD can receive 1080P data via i.link port? If this is true, will the up-scaling chip know that it is receiving 1080P signal, so it won't do anything?

    3. Does this mean that the HDMI circuit of SXRD cannot pass 1080P signal to the core circuit of SXRD that projects the image due to the copyright issue?

    4. if 1) is true, do I still need A/V receiver or DVD player that has built in up-scaler to display better picture? Does SXRD upscale the upscaled image?

    Which one would display better picture?

    1) DVD sends 720P (or lesser signal) to A/V receiver. A/V receiver sends 1080i to SXRD via HDMI. SXRD displays the signal in 1080P.

    or

    2) DVD sends 720P (or lesser singal) to A/V receiver. A/V receiver sends 720P (or lesser signal) to SXRD via HDMI. SXRD displays the signal in 1080P.

    5. PS3 appreantly can output 1080P signal via HDMI. How would SXRD treat the signal and process it if it cannot receive the singal?

    Thank you
     
  7. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey haw-eye,

    wat is an i.link port? is that just the firewire port?

    also, whart is an a/v reciever?
     
  8. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    @ Hawk_Eye,

    Some of your questions have already been answerd in this thread but since I hate unanswered questions...

    Yes

    See the Fixed Panel Display discussion.

    Yes

    If the signal is already in the tvs native resolution then there is no reason to scale!

    See Fixed Panel Display discussion aswell and the 1080p via firewire discussion.

    No, it means that the designers of the SXRD didn't feel that 1080p via HDMI was a feature that the SXRD needed to have. 1080p over HDMI is possible!

    See HDMI.org faq discussion.

    Up-scalling from the source and upscaling at the tv set are two slightly diffrent things. It is recommended that people with HDTV big screens buy DVD upconvertors because they all have [bold]Digital[/bold] outputs. Digital connections are better when the source and display are digital. Meaning that when a digital connection is used the tv set can preform scaling (if needed) properly whithout any Digital to Analog to Digital conversion issues.

    Setup option #2 would be best option in most cases.

    The Blu-Ray technology only allows for 1080p@24 fps. What that means is that the games, which are done at 60fps, will max out at 1080i!

    As for the SXRD, your PS3 will be limited to 1080i even with movies encoded at 1080p. The SXRD will show nothing because the 1080p resolution is unsupported.

    Remmember that these are only my educated assumptions about the PS3 and Blu-Ray from what I have read since the hardware hasn't matirialized yet.


    @ mikej3131,

    Yes, i.Link is Firewire without power.

    An A/V receiver is an Audio/Video receiver. You know that an Audio/Video receiver is right?

    Ced
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 6, 2006
  9. BigMike2

    BigMike2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey Diabolos, do you know when Sony puts out their next model year on TVs, especially this one. I'm looking at the July timeframe for buying one. Wuld like to see what the new model year brings us.

    Mike

     
  10. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok so how many firewire ports does the sxrd set have? to get 1080p, you would just hook up a firewire cable from my cable box to the tv or a firewire cable from my dvd player to the tv?

    what is an audio video reciever?
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2006
  11. Hawk_Eye

    Hawk_Eye Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    1 at the front and 2 at the back.

    Yup. The problem is, you are not going to find digital devices other than digital camera or digi video camera that have firewire video-out that goes to TV's firewire port. DVD players that have firewire output is for audio only. They do not pass video signal to it.

    it's a hub for home entertainment system.
    i.e) google the following:
    RX-V2600 -> this is what I am looking to buy.
     
  12. Hawk_Eye

    Hawk_Eye Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    BigMike

    I heard current sxrd will discountinue around in early Q3. The 2006 sxrd will come out Q4.

    I got this info from avsforum.com and the person who said this is a big sony retailer.

    But upcoming sxrd may still have HDMI 1080P input issue as HDCP issues are not resolved completely.

     
  13. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so is the 06 version going to be alot better than the current?
     
  14. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How about my comcast digital cable box. it is the motorolla box that has a firewire on it? is that firewire out and does it display video?
     
  15. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    1080p over HDMI is possible! It has nothing to do with HDCP. There are models available today that except 1080p signals via HDMI.


    @ Hawk_Eye,

    What HDCP issue has not been resolved completly?

    You do realize that the i.Link port is HDCP complient aswell. HDCP is not something that is married to HDMI it is industry standard DRM for all Digital A/V connections.

    Ced
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2006
  16. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oh so even if my cable box has firewire out, it still wont be able to display 1080p because of hdcp
     
  17. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    also will the sxrd now drop in price once the new one comes out?
     
  18. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey diabolos,

    So what is up with the maintenance on these tv's. i know i have to replace the bulbs every 4 years or so. with best buys warranty, they said sumthing about cleanings? how often would this need to be cleaned, and with the warranty, do they justy come to ur house and clean it?
     
  19. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    No, HDCP has nothing to do with the resolution capabilites of the connection or of the display.

    Firewire is the only way to view 1080p matirial on the SXRD.

    You can get your tv cleaned once a year. The light bulb will be replaced about every 2 years not 4 years.

    No...LOL

    SXRD Note the price drop
    http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INT...ame=tv_ProjectionTVs_RearProjection_55to80TVs

    Ced
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2006
  20. mikej3131

    mikej3131 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how much are the bulbs?

    Also with the best buy warrantyt, do they also buy the bulbs or do i have to pay for them?

    Do you think my motorolas i.link outpus video?
     

Share This Page