1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony Protected error and I can't find a solution

Discussion in 'Receivers and amplifiers' started by axelstudi, Aug 27, 2009.

1. axelstudi

axelstudi Member

First, the setup:
    ~20 yr old Sony STR-GX6ESII receiver
    2 month old Klipsch RB-61 Bookshelf Speakers

This receiver has has no trouble for 20 years. I recently purchased the Klipsch speakers, and connected them with ~10 guage speaker wire. Sounded fantastic, and I've been using them for a couple of months now. However, I recently hosted a party and had the receiver at near peak volume for about 20 minutes. The receiver got pretty hot (had great ventilation though), and then went began flashing "Protector". I've read about this problem, and feared I had caused internal damage in the receiver, because I can now only play sound at low volumes. As soon as the volume reaches about 20%, it shuts off into protected mode. I gave it a week to see if it would improve, and no change.

So, I bought a new receiver, a Sony STR-DH100, expecting that to solve my problem. After I plugged it in and began increasing the volume, BAM, "Protect". So at this point I'm shocked that the receiver wasn't the problem. Sony's support site says "If the unit does not display PROTECT with the external components disconnected, one of the connected devices or speakers is causing this error. "

So I bought some brand new speaker wire, cheap 18 guage. "Protected" again on both receivers.

Finally, I plug in some very cheap boombox speakers with 20 guage or so wires, and everything seems to be fine: they're super loud on both receivers. So does that mean my klipsch speakers have some kind of short? They still work consistently at low volumes, so... Do I need to find a multimeter and do some tests? Or send them back to klipsch under the warranty? Or something I haven't thought of?