1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Specific question regarding backup programs such as DVD2XBOX

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by Littlefat, Jan 6, 2005.

1. Littlefat

Littlefat Member

Hi, I'm pretty new to the whole xbox modding scene and I'm trying to decide whether or not to purchase a modded xbox with a bigger HDD already installed. See I already own a PS2 and I use HDLoader to backup my games since it's nice to have the games I friggin OWN load significantly faster by running straight off the HDD in my PS2.

What motivated me to get a 2nd xbox (my first one just stopped working and it was past warranty, so I sold it for 50 bucks) was that I learned it was possible to play backups of games you own off the HDD if your xbox was modded. What I DIDN'T know was that it was a lot more complex than HDLoader's routine for PS2.

I've read alot so far about Evo-X and how you need to FTP files to your xbox from your PC and all that jazz. What my question IS that I haven't found answered in any of the tutorial I've read yet is this: Lets say I get my modded xbox with the latest xecuter chip and a 120 HD installed and the thing is working as it should. If I wanted to simply copy my games to the xbox's HDD as SIMPLY as possible, what's the easiest way to do that?

The reason I ask is because I've tried looking up info on HDDLoader and DVD2XBox (I've read a lot of how DVD2Xbox is better), but it's not clear if you need a dashboard installed on your xbox before you can use these programs. My understanding is, programs like DVD2XBOX will allow you to do the following:

1) Put original game disc you own into Xbox disc drive
    2) Copy that game onto your Hard Drive
    3) Play (with or without the DVD2Xbox stuff, I don't know) the game straight off your hard drive without needing the original game disc anymore.