1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

split movie and ac3..

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by josssh, Feb 18, 2004.

1. josssh

josssh Member

Hi,
    I've got an avi file (xvid) with ac3 sound. but can I split the sound and movie to two files? the ac3 should stay ac3 sound! so not mpg2 or someting...
    thnx
    Jos

2. The_OGS

The_OGS Active member

Use Virtual Dub By Avery Lee and you can select source audio, which will use whatever is there already.
    It can chop your AVI into two smaller pieces (or three!) and then Robert is your father's brother.

3. josssh

josssh Member

I already tried that, but I don't know how to save the sound... I only can save as wav..

4. kaydi

kaydi Guest

Hello gentlemen:
    Please advise me on what is ac3 sound mean (I am really new at this). I have some avis files which I recorded from dvd with uncompressed audio output, and would like to separate the audio from these avis to create cd sound track (wave sound as possible) or at least save as mp3s. Is there anyway that I can do this using the Virtual Dube or any other program. Thanks a whole bunch.

5. taclark

taclark Guest

Okay. . .so we're all newbies (the blind leading the blind). Where have all the experts gone?

Kaydi,

You must be the newest newbie. Click on AC3 and the great design of this forum will take you to a glossary. You can also search terms within the forum to find relevant discussions.

jossh,

I may be mistaken about what you're trying to do, but this is what I'd suggest (I apologize if its too simplistic):

Use DVD Decrypter: Mode - IFO
    Instead of selecting "Input" choose "Stream Processing"
    Put a check mark in the "Enable Stream Processing" Box
    Select the files you want by unchecking all the others
    Of the three circles at the bottom, select Demux
    Then click the main Decryter button (disk icon)