1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Splitting program?

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by 8chaos, Feb 26, 2005.

1. 8chaos

8chaos Regular member

Is there a program to split most files to fit on multiple cds? Including avi, mpeg files and such. I use DV tool to split mpegs, but it doesn’t work for anything else.

I’m just starting out to learn how to burn and convert files, and just looking through this site blows my mind. So any help would be appreciated.

2. Mick69

Mick69 Guest

use whatever you want to split your mpegs files, as long as its splitting the file right then its all good.

when i have to split an avi i use virtualdub, get it here(just choose the mirror that best suits you):. http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/virtualdub/VirtualDub-1.5.10.zip?download

how to split:. first open the avi that you want split, then in the video menu select 'direct stream copy', also in the audio menu make sure 'source audio' is selected as well as 'direct stream copy'. now while holding down shift(this makes sure you cut on a keyframe) move the slider to your desired starting point and then press 'home' on the keyboard and again while holding down shift move the slider to the end point you desire and press 'end' on the keyboard, now press f7 to save the file. after its done splitting press home again this will make the end point that you specified now the starting point, then just scroll to the new end point that you desire(holding down shift again). repeat until you have split the file into as many parts as you want.

cheerz

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 26, 2005
  3. 8chaos

8chaos Regular member

thanks for the info, I downloaded virtualdub and opened a couple of files I have, but when I open them it says something like