1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

standalone dvd compatibility question

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by steve11, Apr 6, 2005.

1. steve11

steve11 Member

hello

i have put a svcds onto dvd using the dvdlab method and i was just wondering if anyone knows what the compatibilty would be with standalone dvd players?

would only players that support svcd play these or these disks work in any players that play backups?

any information would be gratefully received as i am a newbie at this!

2. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

Yes, because the video is 480x480, which is not a DVD standard.

3. steve11

steve11 Member

so,, what is the best method for doing it to ensure compstiblity, i dont seem to have very good results with dvd santa or divx to dvd, i tried to encode a svcd recently and the film ended up being a smallish rectangle on the tv screen, this has happended on two different svcds that i have done recently,

i was just looking for the most effective way of putting them on dvd, im not to bothered about the time taken, just the end result and good compatibility!

the reason being i have some old video footage (uncopyrighted) on svcd
    that i wanted to give away to family members some of there players may support svcd some not, i wondered what the best way of doing this was

4. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

Re-encode it to DVD standard NTSC or PAL, depending on your region, then reauthor to dvd.
    Any good standalone encoder can do this.
    Canopus Procoder Express, Mainconcept, Tmpgenc, et al.
    You will also have to transcode audio to 48khz. I prefer Ffmpeggui to do this.
    There are other tools available:
    http://www.dvd2dvd.org/ which will do SVCD to DVD, with the free bbmpeg encoder, tmpgenc, or CCE, and allow much more flexibility with some settings.

5. steve11

steve11 Member