1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange behavior by my DVD player

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by TonyNYC, Sep 1, 2011.

1. TonyNYC

TonyNYC Member

I am a newbie in the realm of DVD player. I have recently been given an old Sony DVD player. I have a CD and a DVD that both have movies with “KMP MPEG video file” format which the DVD player have no problem playing the videos. However I have some videos on my laptop with “.avi” file type that I burned into a CD and tried to watch it on my DVD player, and while the DVD player is trying to read the TOC on the CD, it prompts me a message on the console saying “Cannot read the format”. I tired the following:
    1-Burned the videos onto a DVD and the problem persists.
    2-Converted the videos into MPEGI format and then burned them onto a CD and the problem persists.
    3-Converted the videos into WMV format and then burned them onto a CD and the problem persists.
    4-Repeated step 2 and 3 and burned the videos onto a DVD and the problem persists.
    I burned these videos with 10X speed. I also notice the DVD and the CD that I mentioned works with the DVD player contain some directory structure where there are videos and some instruction files but the ones that I burned using the burner on my laptop doesn’t generate any instruction files and only the video files.
    Interestingly, the CDs and the DVDs that I burned in steps 1 through 4, they work fine with other DVD players such as Samsung and so on. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am very frustrated at this time with this DVD player.

Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  2. attar

attar Senior member

A DVD movie contains .VOB, .IFO, and .BUP files in a VIDEO_TS folder.
    The AVI has to be converted to mpeg2 format and authored into that structure using the likes of DVD Flick, AvsToDVD or similar.