1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subtitle Troubles

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by Midus, May 8, 2004.

1. Midus

Midus Member

I'm new to encoding .Avi files to Mpeg so I decided to follow the guide thats here. I sucessfully encoded several of my files to Mpeg ,but when I watched them in full screen mode, the subtitles got cut off a bit. I thought it was my screen at first so I re-adjusted the vertical but nothing happened. I decided that it was just my computer and burned them to VCD. I then played them on my DVD player and the subtitles were still too low. I followed everything in the guide and don't know what to about my subtitles.

Note: The subtitles are on the video, so I guess I should say that the video is too low, not the subtitles.

2. Midus

Midus Member

I found the answer, but I still have a problem. Someone had the same problem and was told to go to center(custom size) and to calculate...but I don't know what that means

3. shiroh

shiroh Guest

ha, i think thats me.

making vcd ? that will be 352x240 pixels for the video size. try go to video arrange method and put the size to 336x224. you can go look at the preview under "file" drop down menu. there you'll see that there is a black bar surrounding the picture. that is what we want. i've check from a video source of 640x480 and it doesn't look stretch. i'm saying this cause mathematically it is stretch, a little bit.

i don't usually do vcd so i'm not 100% percent sure if the subs will still be missing or not.

here is a little tip on how to calculate my way.choose the widt size you want in the video arrange mathod.(i would choose something divisible by 16) divide it with the width size. and then times it with the video height.

example,
    i chose the arrange method as 336(lets give it variable A) for the 352x240 video(and this the variable B and C)(on the video tab in settings)