1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Super Frustrated with Freezing

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by yanks23, Feb 22, 2005.

1. yanks23

yanks23 Member

I'm a newbie and I'm having trouble. I use DVD Shrink, I have Nero, and I'm using HP +R's as my blank disks. I have tried encoding and burning two different ways and both generate the same problem.

1. I make an ISO image and then burn copy using Nero.
    2. I make a backup in my Video file and then make a DVD-video using Nero.

I'm using an external DVD drive (Sony DRX 710UL) and I have purchased a PC MCIA card to upgrade my USB port to 2.0 on my laptop.

They both produce freezing of frames within the first 3 minutes of the movie. Then, the rest of the movie seems fine. I'm getting super frustrated spending hours doing this stuff only to have the first part of the movie screwed up.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. Balaam

Balaam Regular member

Most likely this is a media issue. Try another brand, like Taiyo Yuden maybe.

3. yanks23

yanks23 Member

Ok, thanks. I just figured HP's were good b/c they are $70 for a 50 pack, regularly priced (I paid $19 on sale). How much are the Taiyo's?

4. bluto1940

bluto1940 Guest

5. yanks23

yanks23 Member

So I assume that you think it may be media as well, Bluto?

6. bluto1940

bluto1940 Guest

I would try a different media first. You might want
    to get some re-writeable till you get it figured out.

7. Whitfield

Whitfield Regular member

yanks23--
    I had the same problem with HP disks--I bought them because they were on sale and I have an HP computer--after 2 of the first 20 "skipped" OR "froze", I tried a pack of Sony--no more problem! Good luck--

Whitfield

8. bazilla

bazilla Regular member