1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SVChost.exe

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by Heather59, Aug 30, 2014.

  1. Alryss

    Alryss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have been through the whole folder and no DelFix in any of them.
     
  2. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    It's NOT a file, it's a FOLDER...... DelFix is the folder and ERDNT.exe is the file in that folder.
     
  3. Alryss

    Alryss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I followed your path (C:\Windows\ERUNT\DelFix and locate the file ERDNT.exe) and there is no DelFix in any part of the ERUNT folder. Could it have gone somewhere else?
     
  4. Alryss

    Alryss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm going through my downloads and can't find Delfix anywhere. Should I download it again and run it?
     
  5. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    NO! That just tells me that maybe you didn't run it when we finished cleaning...

    Let's try this: open your System Restore and make a list of all you have in there and be sure to get the dates.
    Send that list to me and I'll try to figure out what time frame it falls in. That is before or after the Product Key disappeared...

    Also ddp said he had an option but I haven't heard from him yet.
     
  6. Alryss

    Alryss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok. Found this list:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    That is correct but it don't go back far enough. Please do it again and check the box 'Show more restore points'.
    thanks.
     
  8. Alryss

    Alryss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It brought up one more point.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Oh boy, Jan 2010 --- not good. :oops:oops....

    Maybe ddp has a good option......
    @ddp where are you????
     
  10. Alryss

    Alryss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It's ok. I applaud your effort. Question: why would 2010 not be an option? Just curious.
     
  11. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Well,I guess it could be an option...... only you would loose almost everything you have done for the last 4 years. And I really don't know if it would work or not...
     
  12. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Hang in there maybe I can dig up something. I'll keep looking.
     
  13. Alryss

    Alryss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Fair enough. I'm not comfortable with the chance, either. Thank you, so much, for the help you have given. I guess we will wait to see what ddp has, then. Heather says he is the one who helped her.
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,309
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    will do the same thing as i did for heather to reactivate her windows. ask heather if she still has that file i sent her & if she does, put it on a flash drive & run it on your computer.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2014
  15. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Alryss, do me a favor.. I run into this situation every once in a long time and would like to know if this will work.

    Download, install and run this KeyFinder to see if it will find the original key and let me know. If it does then we can reactivate your computer with it.

    https://www.magicaljellybean.com/downloads/KeyFinderInstaller.exe

    Let me know if this finds the Product Key ok....
     
  16. Alryss

    Alryss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The key finder worked. I don't have the notification any longer. Now I have to wait see if it pops up, again. It went away, as soon as I inserted the verification key number. I still can't access my background program, but it may be something I'm doing wrong. I have some of my personal pics as my background and scroll through them. I can't change or add any new themes.
     
  17. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Hey, that's great! :D I kinda thought that your key was still there and you had only lost the activation.

    If you don't mind digging around a little more we can see if we can fix this also.
    Post a fresh FRST log and I'll see....

    [​IMG] Scan with Farbar Recovery Scan Tool

    Please re-run Farbar Recovery Scan Tool to give me a fresh look at your system.
    • Right-click on [​IMG] icon and select [​IMG] Run as Administrator to start the tool.
    • Make sure that Addition option is checked.
    • Press Scan button and wait.
    • The tool will produce two logfiles on your desktop: FRST.txt and Addition.txt.
    Please Attach both logs to your next reply.

    2oG :)
     
  18. Alryss

    Alryss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sorry. Was battling a bad migrane, yesterday. Here are the results of the scan. Also, AVG crashes, when I bring it up. This is not the first time. I believe it's why I took it off, the first time.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    First, your AV is not working......

    Use this to uninstall AVG completely and then reinstall:
    http://download.avg.com/filedir/util/support/avg_remover_stf_x64_2015_5501.exe

    AVG is OK but I don't like it because of the ASK Toolbar it installs and is hard to remove.
    I use Avast but it's your choice. Just have an AV... lol

    I will be in and out today and will get back to you as soon as I can.
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,309
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    i don't have a problem with the ask toolbar as i never install it.
     

Share This Page