1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

switching motherboard on a dell

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by jprice, May 16, 2008.

  1. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,137
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    yes on the ram.
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    1. Yes, but don't buy open box motherboards, they can be prone to going wrong.
    2. Because one GTX280 is miles faster than one 8800GTS, so it's sufficiently fast to be better than even a 9800GX2.
    3. Yes, because they're the same thing - that's all a 9800GX2 is.
     
  3. jprice

    jprice Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Great thank you very much that is what I was looking for :)
     
  4. jprice

    jprice Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    here is another question. How much would the following PC be worth:

    Dell dimension 9200 (yuck)
    Core 2 duo 1.8 GHz
    Geforce 8800gt 512
    4 GIG's RAM
    Sound blaster audio card
    firewire card 3 slots
    8 usb slots
    And what if I include a 22` monitor and what if i don't?

    What do you think?
     
  5. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    wait for the reviews to see if it wil be faster then the GX2 when at 1920 and above with 4AA and 16AF
     
  6. jprice

    jprice Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The P5K-E does not support SLI, so you can't use both cards with it. Only nvidia chipset boards support SLI, and to be honest, they're pretty pants most of the time. If you're sticking with nvidia, keep using a single graphics card.
     
  8. shaffaaf

    shaffaaf Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    46
    m8, im sorry to say, that board ONLY does crossfire, and eevn then at 16x and 4x, the PSU would be fine though, and yes you need a ribbon, which will come with an Nvidia mobo.
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Indeed, whereas with crossfire, the ribbons are provided with the graphics cards.
     

Share This Page