1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TES: Oblivion

Discussion in 'Windows - Games' started by esrever, Mar 18, 2006.

  1. esrever

    esrever Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    THREE MORE DAYS TILL OBLIVION! WOOOHOOOOOOO!!!!!!
     
  2. nmpue

    nmpue Guest

    I'm wondering if they'll release a demo disc so I can see if it will run on my 2year old PC.
    These are my specs:
    Athlon 2400+ @2Ghz
    1 GB RAM
    ATi Radeon 9000 Pro 128MB
    80 GB Harddrive
     
  3. esrever

    esrever Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Wow dude, you need to get a faster CPU and a better graphics card.
    I needed to get an ATi X1600 just to get recomended.
    3.2 GHz 2 GB RAM
    :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2006
  4. Xian

    Xian Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion System Requirements

    Recommended:
    3 Ghz Intel Pentium 4 or equivalent processor
    1 GB System RAM
    ATI X800 series, Nvidia GeForce 6800 series, or higher video card

    Minimum System Requirements:
    Windows XP
    512MB System RAM
    2 Ghz Intel Pentium 4 or equivalent processor
    128MB Direct3D compatible video card
    and DirectX 9.0 compatible driver;
    8x DVD-ROM drive
    4.6 GB free hard disk space
    DirectX 9.0c (included)
    DirectX 8.1 compatible sound card
    Keyboard, Mouse

    Supported Video Card Chipsets:
    ATI X1900 series
    ATI X1800 series
    ATI X1600 series
    ATI X1300 series
    ATI X850 series
    ATI x800 series
    ATI x700 series
    ATI x600 series
    ATI Radeon 9800 series
    ATI Radeon 9700 series
    ATI Radeon 9600 series
    ATI Radeon 9500 series
    NVIDIA GeForce 7800 series
    NVIDIA GeForce 6800 series
    NVIDIA GeForce 6600 series
    NVIDIA GeForce 6200 series
    NVIDIA GeForce FX series
     
  5. nmpue

    nmpue Guest

    I guess I'll be better off getting an Xbox 360 rather than upgrading.
    Oh well. I might wait and see if they get all the issues resolved before I buy one. A lot of people have been saying that the system sometimes crashes in the middle of a game. Or should I wait for PS3? Oblivion is the only game I want at the moment.
     
  6. esrever

    esrever Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The early 360s had alot of bugs, but by now most of them should be worked out. Make sure that if you do buy one, it isnt the first generation. I have a 360, and frankly, my PC kicks the living sh-- out of it, Im just keeping it for the HD-DVD playing capabilities now.
    I suppose it is decent for the money...and if you want to play TES.
    I am REALLY looking forward to PS3 though with bright eyes. It will smash the 360 to pieces in my opinion, but is also predicted at this time to be mor expensive. 360 will be a "budget" system by then.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2006
  7. nmpue

    nmpue Guest

    I'm thinking of getting a Radeon 9600 Pro 256MB for $163NZ just to run the game. Do you think it's worth it? I'm interested to see how well it would run on my Radeon 9000, but I don't think they'll be releasing a demo.
     
  8. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Just got Oblivion running on my unsupported Radeon 9200se.
    YOU dont have to buy a new card with pixel shader 2x if you
    dont WANt to.
    You will have to change the shadre configuration,
    And force 1x shader option in the .ini file,
    But it works and at 40+ fps on my pc. (specs are posted in my sig)
    I will link to the info and add pic's below.

    It is also possible with older FX cards now as well.
    The link is posted below.

    Cheers!

    http://www.elderscrolls.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=296193

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2006
  9. rcgamer

    rcgamer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    this game is awesome. i got the collectors edition yesterday. man those screens you posted look horrible compared to what the game looks like on high settings.ill post some later.
     
  10. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    On a 9200Se which isnt supported,
    Those graphics are great, Considering my card doesnt
    support 2x shader mode at all.

    I tweaked it a little since and have fixed the speedtree effects which are now working great on my OLD UNSUPPORTED card.

    For a 9200se it cant get MUCH better!

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2006
  11. victoreed

    victoreed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey i'm thinking of purchasing oblivion but i don't think my video card is close to compatable.

    CPU: Intel Pentium 4 (3GHz)
    RAM: 1.5 GB
    VIDEO: [bold]Radeon X300 SE 128MB[/bold]

    going to cut it?
     
  12. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It should play pretty well on normal/high settings.
    It can be tweaked even better.



     
  13. achapman

    achapman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello, I am having problems with Oblivion. Does anyone know what the problem is? I created a video so everyone can see my problem
    My computer specs are
    DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Sli-DR Expert
    AMD Opteron 148 CABNE 0528 OCed to 2.8
    Mushkin Redline XP4000 2x1024mb
    BFG 7800GT w/ NV Silencer 5 Rev. 3
    2x WD Raptor 74gb Raid 0
    HP DVD-RW 640i
    Silverstone Strider 600 Power Suppply
    Antec P180 modded w/ Window
    Thermalright SI-120
    ---------------------
    Here is the video! its xvid mpeg4
    http://www.aaronlchapman.com/teso.avi
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2006
  14. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Turn you distant rendering off.
    I would start with buildings and landscape.
    Its its still jumpy you can manually lower the distance
    in the oblivion.ini locted in my documents/my games/oblivion.

    Cheers
     
  15. achapman

    achapman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The thing is, it isnt jumpy, it just glitches like that.
     
  16. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Also there are a couple of commands that may help.

    Pree tilde key '~' and enter one of these at a time.

    1) 'ts' (without the ')
    2) 'set fog 15000 20000'

    Keep me posted
     
  17. achapman

    achapman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nothing, I am at a complete loss!! I am getting around 50 FPS but it just glitches like that. Would you like me to make another video? You have no idea how much I appreciate your help!
     
  18. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  19. achapman

    achapman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmmm It still did not fix the problem. My current hardware should be able to run the game full speed, which it does, except for those glitches. I have reinstalled the game several times, reinstalled drivers and directX. I have no clue what to do.
     
  20. noxshame

    noxshame Guest

    i installed the game, but when i run it, it comes up with an error and shuts down before it even starts the game.
    any suggestions?
     

Share This Page