1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The complete HD (Blu-ray/HD-DVD) back-up thread.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray players' started by Ryu77, Mar 14, 2008.

  1. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    AnyDVD-HD will remove any region coding.
     
  2. SupDuper

    SupDuper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I see... So, using the procedures you announced, I could rip the Blu-Ray disk to a single file that the PS3 could read, right?

    Guess, I'll have to find a Blu-Ray drive for my PC and an external Harddrive for my PS3, then. :)
     
  3. NexGen76

    NexGen76 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay I'm at the point i need to encode my video.I'm using Nero recode but my video is(Blu-Ray) VC-1.What do i need to do to get Nero recode to see my video file so i can encode it?

    If i put my(Blu-Ray)VC-1 file into Mkv would this let Nero see the file & let me encode it.I have tried RipBot264 but for some reason my files come out to small after encoding & i have tried Megui but i can't use that program.So Nero is my only source i can use to encode my video....Thx.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2008
  4. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    MeGUI is your best choice. Learning to use it would be rewarding. However a workaround with Nero Recode is that you will need to learn how to frameserve with AVIsynth. For some strange reason though when you try to open a AVIsynth script directly from the Nero Recode browser, it won't work. You will need to drag and drop the script into the Recode window.
     
  5. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Your video file has used too many reference frames. Your only option is to re-encode the video.



    Thank you for the compliments. I do try to help as much as I can. It's in my nature to help others.

    As Odin said, a quad core will encode a lot faster. I remember someone stating that they had the x264 codec running through MeGUI and it was using 100% of all four cores. :)

    I would not recommend overburning as from what I understand it could potentially damage your drive.
     
  6. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thank you for the compliments. I do try to help as much as I can. It's in my nature to help others.

    As Odin said, a quad core will encode a lot faster. I remember someone stating that they had the x264 codec running through MeGUI and it was using 100% of all four cores. :)

    I would not recommend overburning as from what I understand it could potentially damage your drive.[/quote]

    I do have a quad core, a 2 hour movie using AVISynth/Megui takes about an hour and a half.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2008
  7. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ryu, or anyone that can help.

    I want to try the Blu Ray profile for MeGui but I'm not sure what to do with this file or where to put it:

    x264_hrd.patch file

    I tried using the profile once but an error came up saying "C:\Program Files\megui\tools\x264\x264.exe: unknown option -- nal-hrd"

    And what is the difference between the two profiles SA BluRay and SA BluRay Fast?

    Thanks,
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2008
  8. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Odin, you need to put the extracted xml profile files into the profiles/video folder in the MeGUI installation directory. The difference between those two profiles is that one is optimised for speed, the other for quality.

    If you want to use a profile that has been tweaked for even higher quality, you can download my Blu-ray profile here: http://www.mediafire.com/?cwfmxomah0r.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2008
  9. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thanks Ryu, but you didn't address my first question; What do i do with the x264_hrd.patch file?

    EDIT: I just realised it doesn't really look like a question... but it was. Come on man... what's wrong with your mind readin' skills!
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2008
  10. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't understand exactly what you want to know. That file is the actual x264 encoder, it's not a profile file. You need to point to it in the MeGUI "Settings/Program Paths" tab.

    Back to the profiles, extract the XML profile file then place it in the "profiles/video" folder and you will be able to select that profile from the video section on the main window in MeGUI.
     
  11. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I have the three profiles loaded, megui sees them. I have the x264.exe path configured, that was never an issue. I don't understand what to do with the x264_hrd.patch file. I try to encode a mkv video using your profile but I get an error saying "Unknown Option: nal-hrd"

    I grabbed this from a different forum on the same topic, does this have to do with what I'm trying to do. If so I have no idea what it means.

    Quote:
    svn co svn://svn.videolan.org/x264/trunk x264
    cd x264
    wget http://lists.videolan.org/attachs/20070107/x264_hrd.patch
    patch -p0 < x264_hrd.patch
    ./configure --prefix=/usr --enable-debug --enable-pthread
    make
    make install


    Maybe I'm asking the wrong question. Is there a patched version of x264.exe or do I have to apply the patch to the current version(rev839)?
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2008
  12. Ryu77

    Ryu77 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Odin, I would recommend running the update function in MeGUI and/or downloading the latest versions of the MeGUI core and the x264 encoder.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2008
  13. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I think I have the latest x264 and whenever I try to update in Megui everything fails to download... could that be that Windows is blocking Megui from accessing the internet (just thought of that while typing). I gonna check that one out after work... 7am EST 5/06.

    What is the latest version MeGUI?
     
  14. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I stil cannot get MeGUI to automatically update, oh well. I just went to http://megui.org/auto/, this is where the update feature pulls is files from. So now I have the absolute latest version of x264.exe and it's running fine.

    Thanks once again!
     
  15. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    THANKS-A-MILLION RYU!!!

    Using Ryu's MeGUI Blu-Ray profile I just created a FLAWLESS AVCHD DVD9 with 2 audio streams (DTS, AC3) and subs (srt). Not only that fast forward, rewind, and chapter seek works perfect. I used tsMuxeR and Nero Burning ROM as well.

    I can't wait for your guide... sorry to put you on the spot.
     
  16. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ryu,
    I'm trying to load the plugin "NicAudio.dll", when I save the script or try to load it I get an error; "Cannot load NicAudio.dll". The directory is correct and in the plugins folder.

    Not sure what to do???
     
  17. NexGen76

    NexGen76 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

    I'm about to update to a quad core because i have a.

    Pentium 4 CPU 3.06GHz,3.07GHz
    1.49 GB RAM

    Is there anyway i can speed up my encoding speed? My final video size from Megui(Yes Ryu i have just about learn how to work it) 6.6 GB but it took my PC 24hrs just to do a 1GB.
     
  18. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I have a quad core 2.4GHz each, 3.3GB of RAM. A typical recode takes about 1.5 hours, on the other hand using Ryu's Blu-Ray profile it takes me about 7 hours... you it would take about 2 days. When you get your quad core I definetly suggest using his profile as the result are immaculate, just run it before you go to bed... or work.
     
  19. NexGen76

    NexGen76 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26


    Trust me im looking forward to it because my PC is slow as hell....Also question.


    When i load my raw x264 video only file(after demux)into Megui for some reason it crash.How can i fix this?
     
  20. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You should load it in the mkv format... do not demux it first, just load in MeGUI.
     

Share This Page