1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Official Budget-Conscious Dream Machine!

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Praetor, Jul 5, 2004.

  1. Nissan101

    Nissan101 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you really think anybody is ever going to come to this thread ever agoin..... :(

    it was a good thread while it lasted

    lol
     
  2. GTR35

    GTR35 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ya tru...i was hoping they will com again
     
  3. Nissan101

    Nissan101 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol...

    they are gone my good friend, they have migrated to the richer side of the world
     
  4. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  5. chayne04

    chayne04 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i hope everybody is not gone from this thread yet. i want to build a new computer. i just really need it for internet, for DVD burning, and some minor Excel, and Word programs. No gaming or anything else like that. i have 400 dollars to spend. i already have the DVDRom, and the DVD burner. i need a descent processor, mobo, memory, case, video card, and a sound card. i hope people are still around here.
     
  6. dsgtrain

    dsgtrain Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. chayne04

    chayne04 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  8. dsgtrain

    dsgtrain Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That there is a Socket 939 and will not be very upgradeable in the future. Why not try this out(it goes over budget by 1 dollar):
    AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Orleans 2.4GHz 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103029

    GIGABYTE GA-M51GM-S2G Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813128009

    pqi 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5400) System Memory - Retail
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820141187

    Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600JS 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822144415

    APEVIA (ASPIRE) X-Infinity ATXB6KLW-BK/420 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case ATX 420W power supply for AMD/Intel Power Supply - Retail
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811144076

    Dave
     
  9. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    for those of us in the uk heres a core2duo for under £450


    mobo -Gigabyte 945PL-S3 - £59
    see post below

    cpu - e6300 - £126
    see post below

    ram - 1gb ddr2 - £67
    see post below

    gpu - 7600gt - £108 - 4th down
    http://www.advancetec.co.uk/acatalog/Asus_nv_pcx.html

    hdd - 250 GB Samsung SP2504C SpinPoint - £47 - 3rd down
    http://www.advancetec.co.uk/acatalog/250GB.html

    dvdrw - Pioneer DVR-111D - £23 - 25th down
    http://www.advancetec.co.uk/acatalog/INTE_WRS.html

    psu - 400w - £0

    case - black/silver - £19
    http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInfo...921&GroupID=511
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2006
  10. dsgtrain

    dsgtrain Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Bargain! Half the links don't work.
     
  11. chayne04

    chayne04 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    with the system you have set up for me, can i in the future if i decide could that one be upgraded to Duo Core?

    i really do like what you have come up with. thanks alot. i think i am going to start ordering some of this stuff on monday, if you come back and tell me it will be upgradable.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2006
  12. dsgtrain

    dsgtrain Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes. It can be upgraded with the Athlon 64 x2 CPU's (x2 meaning Dual Core).
     
  13. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    sorry dudes its scan that doesnt like it, try again, open a new tab,then copy and paste these into google,

    mobo
    www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=448644

    cpu
    www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=430631

    ram
    www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=182628

    [bold]edit[/bold]

    after another look at the mobo you need to get 2x512mbs of ram not 1x1gb
    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=121624
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006
  14. dsgtrain

    dsgtrain Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This threads dead again!!!
     
  15. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  16. Wilbow

    Wilbow Guest

    No its not dead, I just had a look, a geforce 6600 gt is a great budget card from www.scan.co.uk under £45
     
  17. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2006
  18. bassdevil

    bassdevil Guest

    is the e6300 any good for gaming? and with it saying it is 1.8ghz does that mean that it have 2 1.8ghz processors as it is dual core or is it 2 0.9ghz processors? any one with more info about dual core processors please explain and is it hard to overclock it?
     
  19. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    the clock speed quoted is for each core, so that is 2x 1.8ghz.

    as for gaming....well im not sure. a high clock speed is better but as more games are optimized for multi core processors it will start to matter less.

    these cpus over clock great :) ask in the offical overclocking thread about it. you will want a better mobo than the one i posted above as thats not that great for overclocking, if your on a budget the abit ab9 is great for its price.
     
  20. kevinko

    kevinko Guest

    ok i am not the richest kid in the world, lol but i still want a quick computer that can keep up with how fast i think (haha) so what can i do 2 better my computer.....but with only 200 dollars??? i dont know much about computers, but i know a little, so plz can any1 give me sum advice??
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 17, 2006

Share This Page