1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Official Budget-Conscious Dream Machine!

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Praetor, Jul 5, 2004.

  1. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Then leave it stock. The card is DEAD silent at idle, and makes a slight air-rush like noise at load, no tonal noise or vibration whatsoever.
    The fan speed adjustment program does work for the 4870, but I didn't know about it until I got the X2.
     
  2. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I want the fan spinning faster than that. I'll see what happens when I get the card.

    Did you check my edit?
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Which one? You edited both posts...
    By overclock, I meant the CPU, I know what effect OC'ing has on the graphics card, the 4870 overclocks relatively well with a noticeable difference in real world performance, but due to my CPU limit, in 3dmark at least the score didn't go up much - 12,759 to 13,016. With the 4870X2 my score rose further to 14,164, but given that my old HD3870 Crossfire pair achieved 13,801 when overclocked, it seems pretty clear my CPU is a limit in 3dmark. Solely for 3dmark, I'd say 'who cares?' but given what I've found in some games like Crysis and Age of Conan, my CPU may be more of a limit than I thought. I'm intending to get a Q6600 not a Q9450 because it's barely more than half the price, but a 9450 should give me a pretty good idea of what to expect.

    Also, at the start of the first test, Return to Proxycon, when they're still in the landing craft, my frame rate has been limited to 86 every time, HD3870CF, HD4870 and HD4870X2. Upping my CPU to 3.2Ghz means I now see 87-88...
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2008
  4. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Well, then I'd suppose a quad will help your scores a lot. I'm not sure what to expect in 3D mark.

    I'm aware you meant CPU. I'm leaving the 4870 at stock for sure.
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I'd never dream of using vmods etc, but I tried overdrive and it worked quite well, it reached the end of both sliders without crashing, and set valus one off the maximum attainable, so from 750/900 to 790/1090.

    As for 3dmark, I'm not sure what to expect either, which is why I'm asking. I make 14,106 with my 4870X2 and E4300 @ 3.20Ghz now, my friend Jon made 16,300 with an 8800GTS G92 (overclocked) and Q9450 @ 3.36Ghz.
     
  6. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I'm expecting maybe 16,000 or so. Maybe it'll be higher but I don't know really.

    I got the Q9450 in the hopes that it would give me a boost in benchmarks, multi-tasking, winRAR, encoding, etc. I never expected a gaming boost at all. So if there is one, it'll probably be very small.

    I could have gotten a Q6600 but I wanted the higher multi and the newest technology. Aside from the extra cores, the Q6600 would have nearly been a downgrade for me. The Q9450 is a happy medium. I thought the price was fair for both the specs and the 45nm.
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Given over here that the Q6600 is only 60% of the price of the Q9450, I think it's really a bit of a sore deal, so I'm sticking with the 6600.
     
  8. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Actually the Q6600 has the higher multi :p
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Q6600 = 9x266 = 2.4Ghz
    Q9450 = 8x333 = 2.66Ghz
     
  10. TheftAuto

    TheftAuto Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    that didn't justify anything. The multiplier is still higher on the Q6600 at 9 instead of 8. The Q9450 is set to a higher frequency stock.
     
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It justified that the Q6600 had the higher multiplier... :p
     
  12. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Well fine then, rip me a new face...

    Anyway I'm glad to be getting a Quad at all.
     
  13. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ahaha, you know we're just kiddin around.
     
  14. spamual

    spamual Guest

    IMO for me, E8600 > Quad (unless its a Qx9770)
     
  15. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well that's because you don't encode videos, use WinRar, or the many different things in which a Quad core comes in handy.
     
  16. spamual

    spamual Guest

    well that and the new E0 stepping of the E8600, infact id inlude the Q9650 over the QX9700 as it also has the E0 stepping :)

    i use winrar, but as i am pirating less and less, and buying more legitly, i dont have the need
     
  17. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    lol

    WELL, there are other uses for it you know.
     
  18. spamual

    spamual Guest

    not for most of you people :p
     
  19. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I don't know what's wrong with the youth of today; i keep seeing winrar listed as a reason for going Quad core. Is that of some stupid checklist on the net, as i've never heard of anything so daft - i mean being as most people don't unrar/unzip that often (yes i torrent a fair bit therefore ie unrar etc) but come on, it's just a bit of disk thrashing.

    /me wishes he was back in the days when pc's first came out.
     
  20. spamual

    spamual Guest

    its not as if one will be winzipping 10 hours a day, maybe once a week, so a dual core with a higher clock> Quad with lower
     

Share This Page