1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Official Budget-Conscious Dream Machine!

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Praetor, Jul 5, 2004.

  1. TheftAuto

    TheftAuto Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah I know.
    TBH I didn't spend too much time, once I hit 3.4 and tested for stability I was quite happy with myself and left it like that for the majority of the summer, since I have to move back up north a bit to finish off school, I reset my system on Monday, and will have a new overclock on Sunday or Monday once in my new environment.

    I think my temps where high, as I also raised the GTLVREF Lane voltages...RAM voltages...Overclocked videocards. I am now sure if I let my AS set, as I OC'd like 4-5 days after I built my comp.
     
  2. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I'm hoping 3.4GHz is possible for me under 1.3v. So far, most reviews put it at 1.25v+ So I don't know what to expect. This is likely because of 45nm. Lower voltage = cooler :p

    I don't think Intel released it, but the Q9450 is believed to have a meltdown/slowdown temp of 95*C. I don't know if there is any truth to this. I'd be happy at 70 or under.
     
  3. TheftAuto

    TheftAuto Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't think thats true at all.

    95 !?????
    wtf

    If anything, the 45nm will be lower than 65nm is turns of overheating, as the production nodes are smaller and will be more effected by heat...unless my logic is flawed?
     
  4. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yup the new Q9s are more prone to overheating. Hell even my XEON Q6600(and these can handle more heat than the regular ones) maxed out at 85C.
     
  5. TheftAuto

    TheftAuto Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    K sweet, that's what I thought.

    How much did your QX6600 cost you, and where did you find it...?
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
  7. TheftAuto

    TheftAuto Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I should have gotten that when I got my Q6600, although I wonder if it was the same price at the time. I just assumed it was to be called the QX6600, as I didn't look it up or the specs.
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    QX would be the extreme branding of a regular Core 2 Quad. The Xeon versions start with X and have different number coding.
     
  9. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Well, here's some wonderful news, my Q9450 is "stuck" at 57*C now. Idle and load. On all sensor programs. WTF???

    A BIOS update did not help.

    Too many problems with this one. If I can't see my temps I'm not going to OC. It's going for a refund today. I'm getting a Q6600 instead like I probably should have >.<
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2008
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ouch, unlucky man. I'm very glad I did choose the 6600 now...
     
  11. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It's just a stuck sensor. Just go by your CPU temp.

    Oh and I got my Xeon from a guy at overclock.net.
     
  12. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    All the sensors are stuck. Speedfan, Coretemp, Realtemp, all showing 57*C for all cores. If it was just one of the thermistors, I wouldn't even worry. We've all seen a few bad thermistors. But I have yet to even get consistent temp readings. Before it stopped working I was getting stuck sensors on all 4 cores at different temps and loads. Sometimes they would update, other times they would stay at like idle temps even under Orthos load.

    One thing to note, most programs are showing the TJ.Max at 95*C or 105*C. So if it's lower than that, I'd like to know what it is.

    The Q9450 is sweet but I think I jumped on it too early. There are still some bugs. The Q6600 is pretty mature now, so I'll hopefully have no problems. Plus it's way cheaper too...

    I just want my quad :(
     
  13. spamual

    spamual Guest

    clear CMOS?
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Lol it's your solution to everything...
     
  15. spamual

    spamual Guest

  16. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Tried that right away because, more often than not, it'll fix most problems. But I think my thermistors went bad altogether. Several reboots and cold reboots show no change.

    Oh well, it's already back in the packaging. Sending it back today. Newegg already confirmed that I can exchange it for a Q6600, so no real worries right now.

    I'm lucky I'm a patient person.
     
  17. spamual

    spamual Guest

    £400 budget:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,093
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Estuansis


    A lot of the recent Core 2 duo and quads have bad sensors but your Tcase sensor is probably still working. Use speed fan and use the CPU temperature to gauge where you are. It should look about 5 to 10C color so what ever the reading is you are safe if when under load you add about 10C to 12C.
     
  19. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I'm sorry this thread hasn't updated in so long. I've since gotten a G0 Q6600 with a 1.25VID and had an excellent OC with it. The Q9450 was just out when I got it, and understandably buggy. My Q6600 has no temp sensor problems to speak of and runs surprisingly cool.
     
  20. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,093
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I saw the date, but I also saw no answers so I figured I'd throw one out there.

    My processor core is 27C idle and never over 55C underload doing anything.

    http://i430.photobucket.com/albums/qq30/hgaskins/392.jpg?t=1224444597
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2008

Share This Page