1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Official OC (OverClocking) Thread!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Praetor, May 1, 2004.

  1. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ye, sorry i forgot to mention that. Just tell us the name of your processor and nothing else.
     
  2. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well the more information the better :p
     
  3. MannyF38

    MannyF38 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is it bad to OC the memory? like 2700 to 3200 ? even if its not OC memory but u can OC anyway ? i see some people here taht have OC the 2700 to 3200 but does it have to be a specific type of memory?
     
  4. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If the memory can handle it then its ok. Most PC3200 is nothing but high quality PC2700 to begin with.
     
  5. MannyF38

    MannyF38 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i see... i justt din't want to OC it restart my pc and burn out my memory or something like that...
     
  6. MannyF38

    MannyF38 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i see... i justt din't want to OC it restart my pc and burn out my memory or something like that...
     
  7. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 Guest

    you dont HAVE top get expensive emmory to overclock it. its just alot easier and more likely you will get a higher overclock with better quality memory chips. you can get PC2700 to PC3200 most of the time. Also they are priced almost the same right now at www.newegg.com so i would suggest getting PC3200 and taking it to PC3700. brands like kingston, corsair, crucial, OCZ, are all very good. OCZ seems to be best bang for the buck for me...and it overclocks like no other...my mobo is actually holding this stuff back.
     
  8. MannyF38

    MannyF38 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well the reason why am getting 2700 512 is bacuse am getting it for $50 so its a good deal... i ahve a kt400 dragon ultra black it saids it supports ddr400 but am pretty sure the max fsb on it is 333 am gonna go check it out..
     
  9. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Low price on memory doesn't always translate to a good deal. Cheaper memory often has very little headroom to overclock and it runs slower, buying it is often a gamble. The difference in price between budget and premium memory isn't worth the possibility of a loss of quality.
     
  10. MannyF38

    MannyF38 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ya i understand what your saying but am not buying from a store am getting from someone they jsut got it couple weeks ago and they decided toget 3200 so he jsut selling it cheap.. wht i was gonna sk is if i decide to OC to 3200 is there a posibility to burn the memory just like that or would i notice lag and diferent things before that happens?
     
  11. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If it's cheap memory then your system will probably crash and fail to boot. It doesn't mean that the memory is burned it just means it can't work at those settings. If that happens you may have to remove your system battery so that you can get back into your CMOS to correct the settings.
     
  12. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Odds are it wont burn per-se, it just may not allow you to OC as much as you want to :)
     
  13. MannyF38

    MannyF38 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    oh and i found out my proc its a xp2000+ Thoroughbred ... i found a pciture where it shows u the diferenceb/t the two but the program pcwizard also said it...i found out my board 333fsb is the max but it supports ddr400 i guess it runs it at 333? its a kt400 soyo dragon ultra black.
     
  14. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The TBred runs at 266
    Your memory is currently running at 333 (to my knowledge)
    Ideally (from a paranoia/safety perspective), you should run your board at 333. Of course if you've got decent cooling go ahead and ramp it to 400 and see if it boots up :)
     
  15. MannyF38

    MannyF38 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yea proc runnig at 266 but at 1.75ghz so am gonna OC till i get to 333...so they both run at 333
     
  16. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 Guest

    that basically is the explanation of a 1:1 ratio. good job! lol
     
  17. Rubiks

    Rubiks Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey, when you overclock your memory does it generate a lot of heat. I'm runnin pc 2100 with an AMD 2000+ 1.7 processor with 133 fsb
     
  18. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well it wont generate THAT much heat unless your doing ultra memory intensive work for say 15hours straight. I'd get a heatspreader to be safe and maybe the Thermaltake Active Coolers if you're paranoid :)
     
  19. MannyF38

    MannyF38 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    check this out guys... i OC the 2000xp to a 2600xp it saids its running at 2.08ghz but i see the 2800 runs at 2.08 but sandra and windows saids 2600xp 2.08ghz someone said it reads it as a high end 2600 or something... and i OC my 2100 to 2700 untill i get the 2700. everything still running ok at 40c - 41c ...
     
  20. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The XP2600 doesnt run at 2.08Ghz. Closer to 1.9Ghz.

    You're gonna OC the XP2100 to a XP2700 until you get 2.7Ghz? Not gonna happen
     

Share This Page