1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The ripper doesnt recognise my free GB space

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by johnmerit, Dec 8, 2003.

1. johnmerit

johnmerit Member

I am a complete beginner and have just downloaded ur DVD Decrypter. In the decrypter log this appears:

W 00:46:25 Drive C:\ (FAT32) does not support files > 4 GB

Does this mean that it doesnt recognise that i have enough GB's of free space.(which I'm sure I have ?). If this is the case how do I make it recognise that I do have enough free space of GB or am I doing something wrong ?? I am running Xp Home edition...

Ur advice would be most grateful urs John_X_X_X_X_X_[small]I'm not an elephant, im a human being!!![/small]

Last edited: Dec 8, 2003
  2. baabaa

baabaa Active member

Nah....

What it is telling you (warning) is that your HD is formatted to FAT32 specification which cannot support single files over 4Gb.

This is not a major problem as Dvd Decrypter is normally defaulted to splitting files to no more than 1Gb......(have a look in settings

I am surprised your running XP on FAT32 though as it is common to have it as NTFS which basically does not put limits on file sizes.....

As long as you have approx 7-10Gb you should be OK....depends on what you are ripping - movie or complete disc, obviously the complete disc would maybe require at least upto 9Gb and then after processing you may need an additional 5Gb.....

So really a VERY safe level is approx 14Gb....

3. malum

malum Regular member

You could convert the drive to NTFS very easily

4. johnmerit

johnmerit Member

Thank you very much for your help!!!....
    So what benifits would it give me to change from fat32 to NTFS and how do I do it ??

Ur advice would again be much appreciated

Urs john..

5. RiPsTeR01

RiPsTeR01 Guest

are you computer savvy, because changing formats is a rather tedious process?

6. johnmerit

johnmerit Member