1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Tuxedo - Whats the Correct XviD video codec??

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by Powa, May 21, 2003.

  1. Powa

    Powa Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi, I downloaded the tuxedo from kazaa and apparently it uses the XviD codec. So yeah I downloaded the latest binary and installed it and I can play the video but I'm getting very bad quality.

    Every time a shot changes, it fades into the next shot/scene with video blocks the size of your fingernail. And lots of them. You can still see like 100 blocks from the previous picture blurring over the new picture. You can hardly make anything out at all.

    I'm convinced I must have the wrong codec or something to play it cos the quality is terrible!

    Running a 1.1Athlon, 384ram, GF4 mx440se.

    Help anyone?
     
  2. Powa

    Powa Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Still no-one knows...*trys to keep thread on main page*
     
  3. IMRANmel

    IMRANmel Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well thats strange coz i also downloaded the same film and it works perfectly its maybe coz u havent installed the necessary programs n codecs

    my methos is the best now all listen up closely coz this is the secret to playing all the films ok
    FIRST STEP:
    download XVID - Nic's build 29-10-02.exe ann install it
    then
    SECOND STEP:
    download DivXPro503GAINBundle.exe and install it
    straight forward
    then
    THIRD STEP:
    download Nimo50Build9Beta1.exe
    when u install this make sure after the inital 'next' screen you will see a tree based option unselect all of the ones apart from
    DIVX g400 filter
    AC3 audio decoder
    AC3 decoder filter
    make sure everything else is unselected OK
    you can select the options in MISC that doesn't matter
    oh yeh and also the first option Nimo Codec Pack 5.0 leave that selected (like u gotta choice)
    then selct next and complete installation
    yor film should work NOW!!!
    i got my info from one of the founder members of DIVX (my homie also creator of the nimo pack)
    so if this works please reply
    im a sucker for compliments
    MEWZZZZZZZ PEACEEEEEEEEEE
     
  4. IMRANmel

    IMRANmel Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oh yeh and i forgot to tell u
    DIVX G400 filter 2.7
    AC3 audio decoder
    AC3 decode filter
    can all be found in the DREICTSHOW FILTER OPTION sorry for anyone who had to search for it
    safe
    MEWZ (G's up Hoes down)
     
  5. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Most likely a codec problem so get the codecs UK_MEWZ suggested but there could also be other possibilites. One of these is you downloaded an xvid file that was encoded from a bad Telesync copy of the movie. Also of course the player you use to play it back, I would suggest using WinDVD because it never gave me any trouble and its rare that someone complains about it!!
     
  6. Powa

    Powa Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks everyone. I managed to get my problem fixed by ChickenMan, from club cd freaks.

    The solution was to uninstall the Nimo Codec Pack ("because it causes more problems then it fixes"), remove all other unnecessary codecs, reboot, install Nics codec again.

    And the movie plays perfectly :) :) :)

    Dunno whats wrong with the Nimo, but it definitely wasn't working for me. Maybe I installed too many of its codecs, I dunno.

    Cheers anyhow people!
     
  7. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Problem with the nimo pack is that it has too many codecs in it lol, and people dont realise that you are supposed to use it in such a way that if you need a codec, thats all you will select from the install list and they install everything! Thats what causes serious problems!
     
  8. IMRANmel

    IMRANmel Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeh thats y i have given the perfect arrangement of codecs on my post earlier it will allow every Divx film and xvid film and other composed film to work in perfect sync
    try it out ok
     
  9. Powa

    Powa Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Lol. Thanks I'll remember in future Mewz.
     
  10. IMRANmel

    IMRANmel Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no probzz
     
  11. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The annpying thing too is sometimes downloading new encoders and stuff and they install crappy codecs automatically, that annoys me! grr
     
  12. powerdup

    powerdup Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can also use ffdshow to decode your movies.
     
  13. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    yee FFDShow rules man. Its just a solution to some much sh**, god bless it! lol
     
  14. powerdup

    powerdup Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah it's become my favorite decoder of them all...

    Amen.

    Congratulations by the way dela, for the upgrade to moderator._X_X_X_X_X_[small]Life is but a dream...so wake me up already!!![/small]
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2003
  15. Powa

    Powa Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So how do you actually use this FFD Show thing? I've installed it, and basically only has this decoder
     
  16. Powa

    Powa Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Soo many options. I'm lost :)

    Anyway, do you just fire up a movie in any player you like and it will automatically use FFD show to decode and render the movie or whatever??

    Say I have a nice fast computer, any optimal settings that can be used for superb quality of divX and Xvid?
     
  17. powerdup

    powerdup Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well normally it should automatically decode divx and xvid movies after youve installed it, but if it doesnt just make sure that its enabled by going into configuration and into the codec options.

    The presets are pretty good, but if you've got a lowbitrate movie enabling post processing will help with the quality.
     
  18. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Cheers man :D
     
  19. IMRANmel

    IMRANmel Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    end this thread powa is inactive it aint helping him
     
  20. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ah ye, the thread was finished!
     

Share This Page