1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Ultimate Dream Computer

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Praetor, May 29, 2004.

  1. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Praetor were you serious about $150 for a projector, where can i get one for that amount of money?
     
  2. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Hmmm!
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth." Sherlock Holmes (by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 1859-1930)[/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2004
  3. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Junk sale. University gets new stuff all the time. Buddy of mine bought a polugraph machine for $25 (he bought it for the rack ... he's into this rackmount stuff)

    Would we? Not a lot of uses for 64bit outside of math/video stuff. The hardware support for 64bit (i.e., mass RAM) first requires that we HAVE the hardware (i.e., that RAM)
     
  4. Prisoner

    Prisoner Guest

    I would disagree, if windows can get us to upgrade and spend more money they will. Any excuse they can get I think there will release new more expensive version and trap you into using it.
     
  5. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Tough call, that leaves me kind of stuck in the middle. Praetor’s right for now, even when 64 bit XP (Windows whatever version) is available it will have limited use for most people but I’m one of the exceptions since I am into the video stuff. Most 64 bit uses will be application dependent and that’s only if there’s a benefit which goes back to what Praetor was saying, number crunching and video compression.
     
  6. superflex

    superflex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sophocles,

    Dont get me wrong, I love AMD. They provide a superior product per dollar, and 64 bit will be the future. It's just a matter of time.

    However, Pentium 4 - 2.8 to 3.0 Prescott's or Northwood's are beating the pants off AMD 64 chips in video encoding.

    The AMD's are superior in gaming and multiemedia, but right now, without 64 bit software, Intel has got the edge in video.

    sf
     
  7. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Dude.... damn near all the A64 is good for IS video encoding (that and high intensity f.p. math).
     
  8. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    128
    superflex

    Check the threads that I post often on AD and you'll see that I'm really into video encoding. It's true that Intel has a slight edge in video encoding but it’s only slight since we're talking a difference measured in seconds, and there is also the absence of 64 bit operating system as well. BTW, you need to read my post a little clearer because nowhere in that post did I state that I used an AMD processor. I’m using a 2.8 GHz P4 overclocked to 3.149.

    Now back to hurricane preparations.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth." Sherlock Holmes (by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 1859-1930)[/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2004
  9. erichm

    erichm Guest

    Athlon 64's are generally better for gaming due to the on board memory controller. The pentium fours are better at video encoding and memory bandwidth sensitive applications.
     
  10. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Again in most cases we're not talking major differences in performance (usually only a few frames0 the faster P4's also do a great job with gaming. In regards to 64 bit, Intel will come on board eventually in fact they're already working on it because they know that when a 64 bit operating system becomes available along with 64 bit applications they're going to out in the cold.
     
  11. eventual

    eventual Guest

    I call it the "You're Sick" computer system for HD Video

    SC933S2-R760 Enclosure
    X5DAE-G2 Motherboard
    Xeon 3.6 1M 800
    Xeon 3.6 1M 800
    512Mb DDR2 400 ECC
    512Mb DDR2 400 ECC
    3DLabs Realizm 800 PCI-Extreme
    DeckLink HD Pro
    DeckLink Multibridge
    Sony DRX-700UL
    LSI MegaRaid 320-2X 256cache
    2.5" SATA Seagate momentus 7200.1
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch1
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch2
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch1
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch2
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch1
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch2
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch1
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch2
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch1
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch2
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch1
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch2
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch1
    146Gb U320 drive 80pin Ch2

    $16471.50
     
  12. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    128
    eventual

    Do you do video encoding? More specifically do you use DVDrebuilder with Cinema Craft Encoder? If you do I'd be interested in hearing about the enocde time on your system.
     
  13. eventual

    eventual Guest

    That's my "Dream Computer". Of course I use a watered down variant, X5DAE,2.8Ghz Xeons,DDR200,MatroxVideo,Pinnacle DVD2000 Capture,AdaptecRAID,U320 drives, same enclosure. I use other systems (twins) for the CAD(Wildcat) and Authoring(Nvidia) stages. They're my triplets.

    What's missing for me is the DeckLink Multibridge so I can capture with the DeckLink HD.

    Also missing is CCE. This is why I can't encode an AC3. (!!!) thx!

    I LOVE decrypter. Right now it's burning with the DRU120A / DRU700UL flawlessly and supports the DVR-s201 but I'm out of media right now...

    I'm sorting through many authoring applications now. Will be posting in that section soon about my findings. I love em all. I'm having a blast. (They all work)

    Encoding rates? The process is slow, which part? Usually I capture MP2 so encoding is fast, 1:1. That's if I'm not adjusting the compression level. If I make changes to the GOP or bitrate, it slows to 2:1. I have the DVD2000 (dc2000) card to thank for this, though.

    When I get CCE going, I'll make a post. I need another way to encode besides hardware encoders. CCE sounds perfect.

    This is an awesome website.

    Another part of my Dream Computer includes this indestructo flight case (so you can take em' on VACATION!!) called the Xero Warrior; best set of pictures here- http://www.atlascases.com/rotorack.html

    Various other capture cards as well, could go on and on-
     
  14. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Cleaned


    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth." Sherlock Holmes (by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 1859-1930)[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2004
  15. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Stay to the topic or the thread will be pruned. :)
     
  16. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Sorry Praetor I thought he'd built the system he posted and Video compression is an excellent way to measure performance. It drifted a bit from there.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth."[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2004
  17. eventual

    eventual Guest

    Even though, I still think the Xeons are part of the dream computer. I am getting really great rates as I have posted in the DVD-9 Authoring forum. The next essential addition is a nice flight case. I always dreamt of rolling away with the set of computers, roll into the van, down the road I go. The flight case has shock-mounts. Sorry, back to the horsepower at hand.
     
  18. erickwan

    erickwan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    for me my dream computer
    LGA 775 Intel®Pentium® 4 3.6GHz Processor with HT Technology
    800MHz FSB
    4GB Dual Channel DDR2 533 Memory Architecture with ECC Support
    256 MB NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra
    Intel High Definition Audio
    HDD 120GB Serial ATA(150MB/s)
    DVDRW&DVDR Burner
    CDR&CDRW Burner
    Floppy disk
    8-USB Ports
    Dual Gigabit LAN connectivity
    Wireless Connectivity
    TV CARD

    but now i am using

    intel pantium 4 3.0GHz With HT(1MB)
    800MHz FSB
    512MB Dual Channel DDR PC400
    128MB FX5600
    Intel High Definition Audio
    80GB Serial ATA
    DVDRW&DVDR Burner
    CDR&CDRW Burner
    Floppy disk
    8-USB Ports
    Dual Gigabit LAN connectivity
    TV card
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]intel P4 3.0GHz 512mb pc400 fx5200 128mb dvd burner and cdr burner[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2004
  19. indienemo

    indienemo Guest

    Spec Budget £1000:

    Vapochill XE case (gets CPU down to -30oC)
    Pentium 4 (extreme ed) 3.4ghz @ 4.4ghz
    2GB DDR-400 Kingston RAM
    Abit mobo w. i875p chipset
    120Gb Seagate 7200rpm
    Generic Cd-rw Drive
    Generic Floppy Drive
    19" CRT monitor
    Windows Xp Home OEM O/S
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]CPU: AMD athlon 2800+ XP
    Motherboard: Quasar(MSI) MS-6786
    RAM: 768mb 2700 DDR
    GFX: 128mb Geforce FX5900XT (overclocked)
    HDD: Seagate 120GB, 7200rpm[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2004
  20. EYEShurt

    EYEShurt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the 3.4ee is overkill but i still want one (does it actually oc that far
     

Share This Page