1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Theory on burning GC

Discussion in 'Nintendo Gamecube - General discussion' started by SuperTed, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. Kafluke

    Kafluke Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hey SuperTed, you started the thread, we've all been waiting on you to give us an update. we're just chatting in the meantime, so whats the news? Have you made any progress. Get us back on topic man, tell us something new about what you started this thread with!
     
  2. SuperTed

    SuperTed Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here's the update I tried to give yesterday.
    Finally extracted the bootcode (both boot.bin & Bi2.bin) now repacking em is a pain in the *ss!
    I can repack it with one bootcode, but gonna have to try harder to use both Boot.bin and Bi2.bin at the same time.
    After that has been done, burning the data will be piece of cake.

    gonna be giving ya guys more updates soon.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Just wondering around[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2004
  3. L-Burna

    L-Burna Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hey SuperTed are you still in the process of repacking the boot.bin and bi2.bin man.I am just wondering man,haven't heard anything from anybody here in awhile.
     
  4. Hogmyster

    Hogmyster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    maybe you dont actually have to pack them both? pack bi2.bin as the bootloader and leave boot.bin as just part of the data.. then again you could try vise versa but i'm doubting that will work (just an idea) ... as for repacking them both and burning them both as a boot loader i dunno...

    atleast you can get one to work! well i suppose work is the wrong term to use.. but atleast pack :)
     
  5. SuperTed

    SuperTed Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You have to repack both.
    Both of em are bootinfo.
    -boot.bin contains very important information, such as location of main DOL file or File String
    Table (FST)
    -bi2.bin contains info on the apploader

    So both have to be repacked. (gotta get some help on howto make an image with 2 bootcodes...a friend of mine knows more about this)

    So more news soon!
     
  6. insomnia8

    insomnia8 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I dont know if you can do anything with this info, but i think it's pretty interesting.
    For school i had to make a presentation about a computer related company.
    So i went to EA games in the netherlands, these guys had gamecubes that played all region but looked the same, they also received (beta) games from the makers in taiwan etc. the thing is these games they got were burned on a mini dvd, and they worked without a boot cd.
    So at least the guys from nintendo and EA can burn these games, but we cant there must be something we are overlooking.

    (i read the whole thread and this is my first post here, cheers).
     
  7. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    They could have been Game Cube development kits supplied by Nintendo to their 3rd party developers. Such machines would allow for developers to burn and run games for testing purposes. Once a game was decided to be "final" it would be sent to Nintnedo in order to be pressed in mass volume onto GC-ROM discs for retail distribution. Such is known to be common practice with Sony.
     
  8. Kafluke

    Kafluke Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    we're all waiting with baited breath superted?..... what gives?
     
  9. insomnia8

    insomnia8 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    still silence, does anyone know if he is still working on it?
     
  10. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Im sad to say this...and my hopes are gone...but I think this post "Theory on burning GC" is a dead issue now :(
     
  11. L-Burna

    L-Burna Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hold on insomnia8 you said that the EA games in netherlands where using self boot GC discs man.I think they had to have a fixed cube then man.It would have to have some kind of modchip to even do that.Nintendo probably stripped out all the parts they where using and sold them,where there is no way you can use every region an so forth.If you look off certain sites and stuff,there are switches for the GameCube that go to different regions.When I seen that,and read what you posted it could have something to do with a internal mod they had,but they are going to keep it as much as a secret as possible right.If they used a burning program,it would still have to boot some way right.It would have to be pressed in order to self boot,the pressed method is with all the consoles I have seen so far.The only thing that I can match it up to would be a modchip,since it can pick up -R and +R media types.You said it was a mini dvd right,man I wish I could have seen that.
     
  12. SuperTed

    SuperTed Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well guys...it was to good to be true!!!
    I finaly repacked both bootcodes and after that burned a game.
    This is what happens:
    -I pop the disc in my GC and the GC starts reading.
    -I goto the gamescreen and it says the gamename is ".,/;",,.=+"
    -I press A (button) and START (button) to start loading.
    -the screen goes blank and nothing happens.
    Tried it with 2 games so far.

    So it's not gonna work.
    Too bad!!!
     
  13. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Im glad you tried it -SuperTed-

    A BIG HATS OFF TO YOU FOR TRYING. Thanks man!!
     
  14. Kafluke

    Kafluke Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hey, man, don't give up just yet! The mere fact that it even thought there was a game in your drive takes you farther than anyone else has gotten! Keep pluggin man! I have faith in you
     
  15. L-Burna

    L-Burna Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Cool SuperTed glad you at least got it to recognize in the console man.I would say keep trying also,you might find something in the boot codes that is blocking it from launching.
     
  16. Hogmyster

    Hogmyster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    also, if you're stil leven attempting it, try using different types of media ... like brand that is.. the drive may be as crazy as nintendo and only work with certain companies media... ;-)
     
  17. insomnia8

    insomnia8 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    maybe you can do something with the freeloader disc and make a bootdisc out of that. it can make your pal GC play USA games so why not copies...with some extra work of course
     
  18. OzMick

    OzMick Guest

    Gotta agree with kafluke, the fact that you got it to actually recognise you had something in there was massive. It would appear that you are on the right track, but it would be a shame to see all your hard work go to waste if you just give up. It might be time to let some of the rest of the scene know what you are doing and see if some other knowledgable souls might be able to continue your work if you have had enough. Good work getting as far as you have mate.
     
  19. L-Burna

    L-Burna Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hey SuperTed have you tried taking the Dol file and converting the whatever game you are trying to work with to a .ELF file.I forgot to say put the .ELF file on the memory card which would be the converted .DOL file.Then trying to launch the disc from the system.The reason I say this is the fact the dol file is needed alot of times to give boot sequence.I think it is cool you got it to show up also,that takes some work for real.I think it would be cool to know how to do it,but I guess that is a secret right.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    Just roll an L and pass a incent[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2004
  20. L-Burna

    L-Burna Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I think I know what program you used SuperTed I am not sure,but is it the Reloc2 program from StarCube.I have been messing with GCMTOOL and GCSplit also,but this is what the Reloc2 NFO file says:

    __:_ __/\__ _:__
    \ |//(>> * S T A R C U B E * \ / <<)\\| /
    \| __/\__ |/
    | / \ /__/\__ |
    | \ /(______. / \ / |
    |___________)\____\ |____/(__________ _______:_______:__
    |\ ____/_____ ______\____ | ._ /
    _:_\______. | \| _. : |/ /
    / \| | | \| . ___ |\ \
    / _._________ | |\ ______|___/ | \__ \
    )/ : \_______|_______: \_______/ |_______| / \
    / | \ . /\ \ \
    ______:_________)\ _______.__________________/__________\_____ \_)\
    / /______: : ._ / ._ / /
    / |\_______/_ | | |/ / |/ /_____/
    \ |/ / | | |\ \ /_______/
    \ /_________/___ |_______|/ / _________ \ |
    \_____._____/\_/ \/: / ______/\__/ )/ |
    : . \( / |
    | \ proudly presents |
    | |
    | |
    (1)>> <> Reloc 2 - The Better Way <> <<)
    | |
    | |
    | Origin...: Windows Filename...: S3-RL201.RAR |
    | Released.: 27, May, 2004 GOD / Rars.: 1 / 0x01 MB |
    | Console..: GAMECUBE Format.....: .EXE |
    | Source...: SOME DOG Supply.....: STARCUBE |
    | Company..: STARCUBE Store Date.: NA |
    | |
    | |
    (2)>> Release Info: <<)
    | |
    | GC-ReloC2 - The Better Way. |
    | |
    | Reloc2 dont touch the Original File, it will create a |
    | new Image - only with the needed Files and put it to |
    | the Original Place. |
    | |
    | Reloc create a 1,35 GB Image. You can disable the |
    | function by using the "-n" parameter. |
    | Features: |
    | |
    | &#9558; Shows ImageName |
    | &#9558; Shows Disc/Game Serial |
    | &#9558; Shows ALL known Developer |
    | &#9558; Shows Apploader Size |
    | &#9558; Shows Apploader Date |
    | &#9558; Shows Offset Main Dol |
    | &#9558; Shows Image Size |
    | &#9558; Shows Offset FST Address |
    | &#9558; Shows FST Size |
    | &#9558; Support the Original Relocation (incl. FST-Mod) |
    | &#9558; Show Filename / Progress of Moving File |
    | &#9558; Extract BI2.bin |
    | &#9558; Extract Main.Dol |
    | &#9558; Extract Apploader |
    | &#9558; Extract Original FST |
    | |
    | |
    | Note: |
    | |
    | If you are using the -r -n Option wou will get the |
    | smallest Image. All needed files will get a new position |
    | and the FST will be touched. In some cases the Games |
    | will not work. |
    | |
    | starcoders '04|
    | |
    (3)>> Greetings: <<)
    | |
    | Nintendo, Atari, Konami, Namco, Capcom, Sega, SCEI, |
    | Hudson, Square Enix, SNK, Tecmo, Treasure, Ancient, |
    | Irem & Rockstar Games, and all our friends. |
    | |
    | |
    /| |\
    /_|\\(>> " Sharper resolution and cooler than ice " <<)//|_\
    : :

    I have no clue if this is the right program you used,but is this the same program man.I would like to work on it also,but instead convert the .Dol file for the game or software disc to .ELF file and place that on the memory card.I think there is something missing in the boot sequence to be honest SuperTed.You are on the right track though.
     

Share This Page