1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thermal paste question

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by kunglao1, Jun 21, 2013.

  1. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,136
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what videocard?
     
  2. 2dogsfighting71

    2dogsfighting71 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. 2dogsfighting71

    2dogsfighting71 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,136
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is your psu 500w or greater as that is what the specs say you need?
     
  5. 2dogsfighting71

    2dogsfighting71 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,136
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    then you should be alright.
     
  7. 2dogsfighting71

    2dogsfighting71 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok I installed and can't get online.
    I get a windows pop-up saying...

    "Install a driver for your network adaptor.
    Windows did not detect a properly installed network adaptor.
    If you have a network adaptor you will need to re-install the driver."

    I've followed the idiots guide but checking that a couple of boxes are ticked is as far as I've got.
    Any help appreciated.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,136
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
  9. 2dogsfighting71

    2dogsfighting71 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    6 yellow exclamation marks in 'other devices'.

    ethernet controller
    pci simple communications controller
    sm bus controller
    usb controller
    unknown device
    video controller

    Thanks for the help ddp
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,136
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    you didn't load your motherboard drivers so if got a disk with the board then use it to install all your missing drivers. if no disk then use the link i posted & they don't make a ggs board but a dgs board.
     
  11. 2dogsfighting71

    2dogsfighting71 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks ddp, I did get a disc with the board.
    Just trying that in a min
     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,136
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    ok.
     
  13. 2dogsfighting71

    2dogsfighting71 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Tried that but still the same :(
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,136
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    still have 6 exclamation marks or no network adapter?
     
  15. 2dogsfighting71

    2dogsfighting71 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah ddp. I'm wondering if I've got the wiring correct??

    edit. do I have to use 'al sweet II'?
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2013
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,136
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is 'al sweet II'? what wiring as only wires used is power to motherboard & drives, data cables to drives from motherboard & cables from front usb\sound ports to motherboard, everything else is either in a slot or part of motherboard?
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2013
  17. 2dogsfighting71

    2dogsfighting71 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Not wiring sorry, I meant plugging into wrong places etc. I'll try re-install mate, thanks ddp
     

Share This Page