1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TOTAL beginner here !! (Remember those 1st baby steps folks??)

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by MrG, Oct 26, 2003.

1. MrG

MrG Member

Hi y'all - I'm starting from a position of zero knowledge here so be gentle !!
    First hurdle I've got is how to (physically) connect my VCR to my PC.
    I'm aware that my PC needs a capture device/card.My "problem" is My VCR has 2 scart outs and Audio L+R - What cabling do I need ??
    I'm pretty sure I can navigate the rest from the excellent posts in this forum!!
    Here's hoping.....

2. Praetor

Praetor Moderator Staff Member

I trust your VCR has plugs that accept these cables?
    [​IMG]

3. MrG

MrG Member

If these are audio L+R and video - then yes I've got a scart adaptor with female plugs to take these cables.
    So I can now go ahead and get my capture card then ??
    Thanks !!

4. Praetor

Theoretically yes.... there a lot of little icky details you should look over first though:
    1. Either your soundcard/capture card can accept that 3-plug format or you the the appropriate convertors and such to allow you to plug it into a 3.5 mm stereo jack (now if you want to do multiple source inputs that a totally different ballgame)
    2. How fast is your computer and/or how big is your harddrive. I ask because (a) if you have a slow computer, you wont be able to do realtime capture-encoding and thus your filesizes will be on the order of um... huge. (b) If you have a big harddrive then you can do realtime encoding however that will tax your proc and subsystem.

5. MrG

MrG Member

OK - No1.
    Now I know what to look for regarding means of
    inputting signals - I'm really gonna need to see the actual card (i.e not just a squishy lil' picture on a box!!)
    No.2 PC is a 1Ghz Pentium3;HD is 20 GB with approx 10 GB of free space currently.