1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total Beginner Returns for More Advice (Please!)

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by MrG, Feb 17, 2004.

1. MrG

MrG Member

Hi folks , I recently fitted a Pinnacle PCTV PCI - a pretty basic card but ok for what I need , transferring VHS onto VCD.
    My problem is that some (but not all!!) videos are capturing as speeded up (kinda like holding fast forward on a VCR)
    This is a non tape-specific problem i.e. it's happening to some PreRecorded and some "home" tapes
    (but not to all of them!)
    Any ideas or advice folks ??
    Thanks in advance

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

So is this Speeding up Happening in the Captured File or when you are watching the VCD Movie on your DVD Player/TV?? What Software are you useing to Capture the Video and to what Format are you captureing to???

3. MrG

MrG Member

Hi Minion - Speeding up happens when watching/checking the captured file.
    I'm using the software that came with the card - not
    earth-shattering by any means but again, ok for the current task (I think!!!)
    Lastly - Format is mpeg1 for vcd - my PC'c only got 12gb to spare so I've kinda steered away from AVI.
    I should add here that some tapes I've transferred have been fine. :eek:)

4. Minion

Minion Senior member

Have you tried Watching the Captured File useing a Different Software Movie player??? Have you tried different Mpeg capture software Like WinDVR 3 for example???

5. MrG

MrG Member

Yep - I viewed them with Windows Media Player - same result.
    And I tried some captures using Virtual Dub - still same results !!
    Any further ideas ??
    Thanks in advance (again!)

6. Minion

Minion Senior member