1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total novice setting up Denon 2805

Discussion in 'Receivers and amplifiers' started by Charles1M, Mar 31, 2005.

1. Charles1M

Charles1M Guest

First time setting up Home Theater apparatus. I can get sound from a CD via the DVD player, and I can get sound from the radio, and that's it. Here's what I have:
    Denon 2805 receiver
    Sanyo DVR700 DVD player
    Sanyo flat screen TV
    Martin-Logan Mosaic floor speakers
    Polk Audio center channel
    BIC Venturi surround speakers-wall mounted
    (Sub Woofer purchase pending - would be intrested in recommendations; am looking at Cerwin-Vega HTS 10)

I have component cables for connecting the DVD player to the Denon and he Denon to the TV--but when I do this there is nothing but snow on the TV.

Can anyone help me with getting the receiver, DVD and TV in sync so I can use the home theater mode? Also, will I be able to use only one remote, or will I need to keep all 3 remotes?

I have read the manual and am confused about assigning the various components, etc. Any help would be appreciated. Matt

2. ghost640

ghost640 Member

I have a 2805 that I set up around Christmas, I remember it was not trivial!

There are special ports for Component In and Component Out - they differ from the banks of RCA ports on the left side (looking at the back). You may also need to tell the TV where the signal is coming from (I assume you can toggle through input sources on your TV) - maybe this is set incorrectly.

I have Outlaw Audio's LFM-1 subwoofer, it's a great piece of equipment at a very reasonable price (www.outlawaudio.com)

Good luck!

3. a-vman

a-vman Member