1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Totaly NEW to iphone world. please help.

Discussion in 'iPhone - Unlocking and hacking' started by nu2ad, Jun 22, 2009.

1. nu2ad

nu2ad Member

hi everybody!
    i just found an iphone a couple weeks back and i want to jailbreak it & unlock it. i have no idea or any info on the phone at all & have never owned one ('till now). (please dont make fun of - but ive never owned a cell phone with a plan/contract. i have a boost mobile thats pre-paid that ive been using since 2005. i was away for a while)
    i know its not the first ones that came out with the metal back. this one has the all plastic back and says 8GB on it.
    from what i saw, the process was super easy on the first iphones that came out. ive come across some sites where they say that i can unlock this phone using yellowsn0w BUT that FIRST the phone needs to be jailbroken. my questions are .....
    1. is the process that i stated above correct? (jailbreak 1st THEN unlock?)
    2. what should i use to jailbreak? yellowsn0w? redsn0w? idontknow!
    3. do i need to have a different sim card thats activated with a phone carrier to complete these processes OR can i complete these processes and put a sim in later?
    3.a. can i put my Boost phone sim in it?
    thank all, for any & all help.

2. ato09

ato09 Member

It sounds like you have a 3G iphone, which you can most likely use redsn0w to unlock/jailbreak it. But as for the boost mobile sim card, i do not know the answer to that. I know that you do not need to have a sim card in the phone while going through the process of unlocking it. It is pretty easy to unlock, especially with the programs like redsn0w to unlock/jailbreak because they tell you how to do them step by step. Hope this answers your questions.

3. nu2ad

nu2ad Member