1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tried many things but capture quality still poor

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by katecam, Oct 12, 2003.

1. katecam

katecam Member

Hi,

i am fairly new at this and am at the tearing hair out stage...from what i have read this is probably normal...please help.

I have a Sony dcr-105, Windows 2000, ilink cable & caopture card. I am capturing video in .AVI format using Pixela software (also tried Vegas 4.0) and have the following probs;

1. Using the i-link i get bands of lines whenever the camera pans & the quality is the same as when i would use the USB cable. The red colour balance is also high & pictures look like a bad VCD.

2. When usign the i-link the sound & picture dont match exactly...bit like watching bad sattelite TV.

3. if i insert frames at the top of the movie it is cut off by the TV & they cant be read.

4. i think Vegas is transferring the movie into NTSC format & i cant figure out how to change it to PAL (Pixela is in PAL).

could the problem be the software or the capture card? Does Windows Movie Maker run on Win2000?

i dont have capture card software so cant change any settings i dont think.

Any suggestions are welcome...

Thankyou.

2. malum

malum Regular member

I don't know what an Ilink cable is but I assume it's a propitiatory thing from Sony?

I assume that the camera is digital?

Does the camera have a firewire socket or is the ilink the same as firewire?

When you say capture card do you mean capture card or do you mean firewire card?

The capture from a camera via firewire doesn't require a capture card (if the camera is digital). It will capture AVI pretty much as it is, it should look the same as playing directly from the camera.

So if it is a capture card then you don't need it and it is probably this that is causing the problem.