1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trojan horse files in AVG vault

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Slasher1, Dec 28, 2004.

1. Slasher1

Slasher1 Guest

I am new to this and have follwed instructions from this site to ensure my PC is clean. I have installed AVG 7.0 and run it regularly, it finds loads of stuff, what I need to know is am I ok to delete the stuff in the vault most of it is files like:

Trojan horse downloader apropo with files names like:

C:\ documents and settings\local settings \temp\ ~apropos \ph.exe or:
    C:\program files\cxtpls.dll or:

C:\system volume information\_restore{lots of numbers!}.exe

I am concered that if I delete any of these I will mess up my PC. Also I have got XP service Pack 2 + AVG 7.0 + spybot + Adaware is there anything else I should install to protect my PC ?

Thanks

2. Otherone

Otherone Guest

Use PeerGuardian, IP Blocker, Disable Java and Active X controls, scan all downloads, script blocker (for .vbs), RIAA front fake sites tend to lure unsuspecting people in and download trojans via "free" programs to find MP3 on the Hard drive and send XML document headers back to the spys. If you get viruses all the time, then boot time full scans might be a good idea. Run spybot and the yahoo bar with anti-spy finds things spybot wont. SpywareBlaster works good too. Keep that fire wall up, XP Pro SP2 has a real good firewALL, AS GOOD AS sYGATE, BUT TENDS NOT TO INFORM YOU OF ALL INCIDENTS. A good trojan horse detector might help. I hate norton, but you might have to get something expensive to handle all the viruses and trojans you attract.
    I use Avaste anti virus and it is EXTREMELY good, and free too. The sygate personal firewall works good too, with sp2 firewwall, but has to be re installed occasionally due to connection bugs.