1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TV System Does Not Match DVD Playback Problem

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by Salazar, Dec 5, 2004.

1. Salazar

Salazar Member

Hey guys. I am getting this message when I try to play my burnt DVD on my Television.

"TV System Does Not Match"

Can anybody tell me what the problem is please.
    Thanks in advance.

2. djscoop

djscoop Active member

Sounds like the region code is different. Did you make sure it was region 1 (assuming you are in the US or Canada) when you burnt it?

3. Salazar

Salazar Member

Im sorry I am a newb...what do you mean by region 1? Do you mean MPEG 1?? By the way I am using TMPEG Encoder Plus and TMPEG DVD Author. Which do I use NTSC or PAL? I used NTSC and I just put encoded the video file by itself with TMPEG Enc. Plus. But I made the estimated file size smaller so I could fit the AC3 audio on the DVD. Could that be the problem?
    In advance thanks for you help

4. djscoop

djscoop Active member

Regions don't have anything to do with the mpeg encoding. DVDs in different countries have different regions. For example, you cannot buy a DVD from Europe, and play it in an American Region 1 DVD Player. Some new ones are multi-region, but not most. Regions are made to ensure that consumers purchase DVDs from their country only.

Check out this site for more details:
    http://www.laserrot.com/info/lrinfo/dvdmap.html

I would suspect that wherever you acquired your DVD-R from was not from your region. If you have PowerDVD, you can switch regions, so it may be able to tell you.

5. djscoop

djscoop Active member

sorry I missed the part about NTSC. If you made it NTSC than it should be region 1. What did you use to burn the DVD? Nero?

6. Salazar

Salazar Member